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Web Analytics : Understanding Visitor Behavior  May 6, 2009 (and how this relates to the bottom line)
Agenda Web Analytics Getting started What the H*** are KPIs? Keeping it simple Communicating Questions
 
Why Should I Measure? Are you spending money on your website/web presence? Are you expecting your website to sell products or generate sales leads? Do your business goals involve an online channel?

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The document summarizes various interactive marketing strategies and tactics. It discusses search engine optimization techniques like keyword research, optimizing content and page structure, link building, and tracking results. It also covers pay-per-click advertising strategies, including keyword research, bidding, writing ads, landing pages, and tracking conversions. Additionally, the document mentions email marketing, reputation management, and using social media to build a brand and engage with customers.

ppcseosocial media
Why Should I Measure? 1.3B internet users worldwide Nearly 75% of US Households subscribe to an internet service 92% of households with annual incomes over $70K are internet subscribers 2 55% of all US Households have high-speed Internet Access 3
Without getting overwhelmed Getting Started
What is “Web Analytics” Using a variety of data sources to understand how online audiences are finding you, using your site, interacting with you, buying or researching your products. Are you visible online? Is your website working? Are your audiences engaged?  Are you meeting your business goals?
 

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Competitive Intelligence
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This document discusses competitive intelligence analysis of web analytics data. It outlines general terms used in web analytics like bounce rate and unique visitors. It also discusses using tools like comScore and Hitwise to collect competitive traffic data and analyze search engine reports. The document proposes designing a tool to catalog and query approved web metrics and analyze competitive data in the future.

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performancepayaffiliatemarketing
Your Tool Kit Analytics software/technology People Practices + Process
Analytics Technology—Lots of Vendors Out There
If Nothing Else….Remember This <script type=&quot;text/javascript&quot;> var gaJsHost = ((&quot;https:&quot; == document.location.protocol) ? &quot;https://ssl.&quot; : &quot;http://www.&quot;); document.write(unescape(&quot;%3Cscript src='&quot; + gaJsHost + &quot;google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E&quot;)); </script> <script type=&quot;text/javascript&quot;> try { var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(&quot;UA-7323138-1&quot;); pageTracker._trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}</script>
Get Access Find out who has the keys to the treasure chest and go get them IT Your ISP Your marketing dept Somebody knows!

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We all want to increase our conversion rates, but it often requires hard work and a long process to come up with the right hypothesis and tests to find the changes that will actually lead to great results. Sometimes all you need is some fresh ideas and a little inspiration from others. That is why we will be taking a closer look at some of favorite case studies on conversion optimization. Join us for a webinar as Neil Patel discusses how several successful companies have optimized their conversion rates and what we can learn from them. In this webinar, we will discuss: - How 31 companies have increased conversion rates by making simple changes to their headlines, copy, and even full-on redesigns - How you can use this knowledge to increase your conversion rates - Why some copy changes increase conversion rates while others repel visitors

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People It’s hard to find people who have experience in online measurement Even fortune 1000 companies are struggling to measure their online properties Hire consultants  Build expertise in-house
March 2007 Global Survey Web Analytics Demystified Research Covering Global Use and Attitudes about Web Analytics Technology and Processes
Process The web is only 16 years old Companies have only been treating online as a serious business channel for 5 or so years Best practices are still being developed and will vary by industry vertical and by individual business
 

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Advanced Link Building Strategies for Affiliate Sites - Patrick Atloft
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This document provides advanced strategies for link building for affiliate sites. It discusses how links are the most important ranking factor for search engines like Google. While on-site optimization can help rank for low competition keywords, links are what Google uses to differentiate between similar sites. The document recommends analyzing competitors' link profiles to identify the types of links that rank highly, such as branded and keyword anchor text links. It also provides tips for link building through content syndication, guest posts, link exchanges, and more to build brand authority over competitors before focusing on keyword anchor text links. Paying for links is risky unless a site already has strong brand authority.

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Simplified Process Step 1:  Define what you want to measure We call these KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) Step 2:  Assign who is responsible for measuring Step 3:  Determine your tools that will provide measurement data Quite often it is not just software, sometimes you need human feedback Step 4 : Put in place system to gather, interpret, document and communicate how you are doing against your KPIs
Advise  It’s more important to start measuring  something  to create a measurement practice within your organization … rather than trying to measure just the right data
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What Can We Measure? From Server Logs (Basic Online Site Info) Where visitors came from (site, search engine, advertisement) What words they used to search and find your site Where they came from (location) Time of day How long they stayed What content they were interested in Where they went next With added tools – whether they have been there before
What  Can’t  We Measure From Server Logs (Basic Online Site Info) Who the individual is unless you set up a login account or find some other way to entice users to give your information about who they are If they are a returning visitor when they delete cookies (little bits of code that tell us that a particular computer has access our site information before) Some anti-spy software deletes cookies automatically
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KPIs http://www.epmreview.com/KPI-Library.html Objective Increase customer satisfaction / loyalty through quality products & services   KPI   Number of visits to customers   Response rate   Customer-loyalty index   Number of customer complaints   Customers lost (in number or %)   Customer retention   Number of negative feedbacks from customers   Annual sales per customer   Response time Objective Increase revenue from common customers   KPI   Annual sales per customers   Average customer size   Customers per employee   Customer service expense per year Objective Increase the market share    KPI   Current market share   Sales volume   Sales per channel   Frequency of sales transactions
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Web analytics is the measurement and analysis of website data to understand user behavior and optimize the site. It helps businesses better understand their online customers, identify prospects, improve communications and increase conversions. Key aspects of web analytics include measuring user traffic sources and behavior, setting goals and key performance indicators, segmenting users, and presenting findings and recommendations to stakeholders.

Analytics: Just Get Started Step 1:  Assign responsibility Step 2:  Define what you want to measure – business objectives Step 3:  Define the process (who, how, what)  Step 4:  Collect data and review to see you have the right information Step 5:  Evaluate if your reports are useful and being used - refine Step 6:  Evaluate if you have the right resources  - refine Step 7 : Use your analysis to inform further marketing/ops investment Test, refine and implement (continual process)
Thank You! Lisa Helminiak Principal | Strategist Twitter:  helmin7 Email:  [email_address] View a copy of this presentation at  www.azul7.com/blog Twitter:  Follow  Azul7 – Get a  free  site evaluation Facebook : Azul7
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SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation

  • 1. Web Analytics : Understanding Visitor Behavior May 6, 2009 (and how this relates to the bottom line)
  • 2. Agenda Web Analytics Getting started What the H*** are KPIs? Keeping it simple Communicating Questions
  • 3.  
  • 4. Why Should I Measure? Are you spending money on your website/web presence? Are you expecting your website to sell products or generate sales leads? Do your business goals involve an online channel?
  • 5. Why Should I Measure? 1.3B internet users worldwide Nearly 75% of US Households subscribe to an internet service 92% of households with annual incomes over $70K are internet subscribers 2 55% of all US Households have high-speed Internet Access 3
  • 6. Without getting overwhelmed Getting Started
  • 7. What is “Web Analytics” Using a variety of data sources to understand how online audiences are finding you, using your site, interacting with you, buying or researching your products. Are you visible online? Is your website working? Are your audiences engaged? Are you meeting your business goals?
  • 8.  
  • 9. Your Tool Kit Analytics software/technology People Practices + Process
  • 10. Analytics Technology—Lots of Vendors Out There
  • 11. If Nothing Else….Remember This <script type=&quot;text/javascript&quot;> var gaJsHost = ((&quot;https:&quot; == document.location.protocol) ? &quot;https://ssl.&quot; : &quot;http://www.&quot;); document.write(unescape(&quot;%3Cscript src='&quot; + gaJsHost + &quot;google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E&quot;)); </script> <script type=&quot;text/javascript&quot;> try { var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(&quot;UA-7323138-1&quot;); pageTracker._trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}</script>
  • 12. Get Access Find out who has the keys to the treasure chest and go get them IT Your ISP Your marketing dept Somebody knows!
  • 13. People It’s hard to find people who have experience in online measurement Even fortune 1000 companies are struggling to measure their online properties Hire consultants Build expertise in-house
  • 14. March 2007 Global Survey Web Analytics Demystified Research Covering Global Use and Attitudes about Web Analytics Technology and Processes
  • 15. Process The web is only 16 years old Companies have only been treating online as a serious business channel for 5 or so years Best practices are still being developed and will vary by industry vertical and by individual business
  • 16.  
  • 17. Simplified Process Step 1: Define what you want to measure We call these KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) Step 2: Assign who is responsible for measuring Step 3: Determine your tools that will provide measurement data Quite often it is not just software, sometimes you need human feedback Step 4 : Put in place system to gather, interpret, document and communicate how you are doing against your KPIs
  • 18. Advise It���s more important to start measuring something to create a measurement practice within your organization … rather than trying to measure just the right data
  • 19. What should I measure? What the H*** are KPIs?
  • 20. KPIs Most Simply: You want to get MORE ______ ? ______ Leads, Sales, Visitors, Downloads, Click-Throughs, Etc. You want to get LESS ______ ? ______ Errors, Abandonments, Un-subscribes, Customer Complaints
  • 21. What Can We Measure? From Server Logs (Basic Online Site Info) Where visitors came from (site, search engine, advertisement) What words they used to search and find your site Where they came from (location) Time of day How long they stayed What content they were interested in Where they went next With added tools – whether they have been there before
  • 22. What Can’t We Measure From Server Logs (Basic Online Site Info) Who the individual is unless you set up a login account or find some other way to entice users to give your information about who they are If they are a returning visitor when they delete cookies (little bits of code that tell us that a particular computer has access our site information before) Some anti-spy software deletes cookies automatically
  • 23. Server Log Information This is basic data on site performance, not KPIs that drive business Server logs give us valuable information but it is usually not enough to decide if marketing programs are working or not Just because there is more traffic to a site, doesn’t mean there are more leads generated or more sales being made.
  • 24. Fancier Systems Use Page Tagging in combination with log files to tell us such things as: Performance of online advertising in relation to site traffic and conversion Do customers buy? If they don’t buy, why? Who’s talking about you online in blogs and social media How all your customer touch points (from your call center to your bricks and mortar shop, align with online sales) to give you customer lifetime value information.
  • 25. KPIs http://www.epmreview.com/KPI-Library.html Objective Increase customer satisfaction / loyalty through quality products & services   KPI   Number of visits to customers   Response rate   Customer-loyalty index   Number of customer complaints   Customers lost (in number or %)   Customer retention   Number of negative feedbacks from customers   Annual sales per customer   Response time Objective Increase revenue from common customers   KPI   Annual sales per customers   Average customer size   Customers per employee   Customer service expense per year Objective Increase the market share   KPI   Current market share   Sales volume   Sales per channel   Frequency of sales transactions
  • 26. General KPIs Average Order Value (AOV) = $__Total Revenue /___# of orders $1,000,000 total revenue / 438 orders = $2,283 AOV
  • 27. General KPIs Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) = $__Average Order Value x __ # of orders by Customer per year x ___ Number of Years for Customer $2,283 x 3 = $6,849 x 3 = $20,547 CLV
  • 28. General KPIs Contribution Margin = Amount you’ll invest to to get a new customer —20-25% of AOV is common For our $2,283 in revenue, we can expect to spend around $457—$570
  • 29. General KPIs Cost-Per-Acquisition or Cost-Per-Action (CPA) = $__Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) x 20% Contribution Margin (CM) $20,547 x .20 = $4,109 CPA
  • 30. General KPIs Close Rate (CR) – ratio of how many leads become customers) = __Customers / Leads = ___ x 100 = ____% Close Rate (CR) 34 customers /100 leads = .34 x 100 = 34% CR
  • 31. General KPIs Cost-Per-Lead (CPL) = $___ CPA x _____% Close Rate $4,109 x .34 = $1397 CPL
  • 32. Value of KPIs Am I measuring the right things? Am I spending the right money in the right places? Where am I getting the best return? Where do I have a competitive advantage?
  • 33. If this is too much… Keeping it simple
  • 34. If That Last Bit Was Overwhelming…Don’t “Frees Out”
  • 35. Go Back To This <script type=&quot;text/javascript&quot;> var gaJsHost = ((&quot;https:&quot; == document.location.protocol) ? &quot;https://ssl.&quot; : &quot;http://www.&quot;); document.write(unescape(&quot;%3Cscript src='&quot; + gaJsHost + &quot;google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E&quot;)); </script> <script type=&quot;text/javascript&quot;> try { var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(&quot;UA-7323138-1&quot;); pageTracker._trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}</script>
  • 36. Crawl, Walk, Run Set up soft conversions Top content viewed on the site Keywords searched to find you Visitor location Set up hard site conversions Form submissions File download Inbound phone call Newsletter open rate
  • 37.  
  • 38.  
  • 39.  
  • 40.  
  • 41.  
  • 42.  
  • 43.  
  • 44.  
  • 45.  
  • 47. This is NOT a Report
  • 48. Report Looks Like this We’ve seen a 15 % visitor drop off rate on our technical publication downloads. Recommendation: Simplify form to eliminate address requirement and test for 30 days. Goal: Improve form completion rate by 20%
  • 49. Analytics: Just Get Started Step 1: Assign responsibility Step 2: Define what you want to measure – business objectives Step 3: Define the process (who, how, what) Step 4: Collect data and review to see you have the right information Step 5: Evaluate if your reports are useful and being used - refine Step 6: Evaluate if you have the right resources - refine Step 7 : Use your analysis to inform further marketing/ops investment Test, refine and implement (continual process)
  • 50. Thank You! Lisa Helminiak Principal | Strategist Twitter: helmin7 Email: [email_address] View a copy of this presentation at www.azul7.com/blog Twitter: Follow Azul7 – Get a free site evaluation Facebook : Azul7
  • 51. Thank You for Participating Questions?

Editor's Notes

  1. Lisa