Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
RobPratt
  • 47.4k
  • 3
  • 24
  • 59
added 86 characters in body
Source Link
Felix Marin
  • 91k
  • 10
  • 170
  • 204

If $s_n=\sum_{k=0}^{n}(-4)^k\binom{n+k}{2k}$ how to prove $s_{n+1}+2s_n+s_{n-1}=0$. One of my student had this question in his exam. Honestly to speak I couldn't get any single idea how to even start. I knew some strategies to find binomial sums but they all couldn't help.$$ \mbox{If}\quad s_{n} = \sum_{k = 0}^{n}\left(-4\right)^{k} \binom{n + k}{2k},\quad\mbox{how to prove}\quad s_{n + 1} + 2s_{n} + s_{n - 1} = 0\ ?. $$

  • One of my student had this question in his exam.
  • Honestly to speak I couldn't get any single idea how to even start.
  • I knew some strategies to find binomial sums but they all couldn't help.

It would be great if someone helps.

If $s_n=\sum_{k=0}^{n}(-4)^k\binom{n+k}{2k}$ how to prove $s_{n+1}+2s_n+s_{n-1}=0$. One of my student had this question in his exam. Honestly to speak I couldn't get any single idea how to even start. I knew some strategies to find binomial sums but they all couldn't help. It would be great if someone helps.

$$ \mbox{If}\quad s_{n} = \sum_{k = 0}^{n}\left(-4\right)^{k} \binom{n + k}{2k},\quad\mbox{how to prove}\quad s_{n + 1} + 2s_{n} + s_{n - 1} = 0\ ?. $$

  • One of my student had this question in his exam.
  • Honestly to speak I couldn't get any single idea how to even start.
  • I knew some strategies to find binomial sums but they all couldn't help.

It would be great if someone helps.

Notice removed Canonical answer required by DXT
Bounty Ended with mathlove's answer chosen by DXT
Notice added Canonical answer required by DXT
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by DXT
Post Reopened by jacky, Haris, user, peterwhy, DXT
Left closed in review as "Original close reason(s) were not resolved" by José Carlos Santos, Another User, Kurt G.
Left closed in review as "Original close reason(s) were not resolved" by José Carlos Santos, Another User, Klaus
Left closed in review as "Original close reason(s) were not resolved" by José Carlos Santos, Ѕᴀᴀᴅ, Kurt G.
edited body
Source Link
YBR
  • 75
  • 4

If $s_n=\sum_{k=0}^{n}(-4)^k\binom{n+k}{2k}$ how to prove $s_{n+1}-2s_n+s_{n-1}=0$$s_{n+1}+2s_n+s_{n-1}=0$. One of my student had this question in his exam. Honestly to speak I couldn't get any single idea how to even start. I knew some strategies to find binomial sums but they all couldn't help. It would be great if someone helps.

If $s_n=\sum_{k=0}^{n}(-4)^k\binom{n+k}{2k}$ how to prove $s_{n+1}-2s_n+s_{n-1}=0$. One of my student had this question in his exam. Honestly to speak I couldn't get any single idea how to even start. I knew some strategies to find binomial sums but they all couldn't help. It would be great if someone helps.

If $s_n=\sum_{k=0}^{n}(-4)^k\binom{n+k}{2k}$ how to prove $s_{n+1}+2s_n+s_{n-1}=0$. One of my student had this question in his exam. Honestly to speak I couldn't get any single idea how to even start. I knew some strategies to find binomial sums but they all couldn't help. It would be great if someone helps.

Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by D S, John Omielan, Leucippus, Ricky, Aig
Source Link
YBR
  • 75
  • 4
Loading