Skip to main content
added 214 characters in body
Source Link

Maybe I'm overlooking something but I have a problem and don't want to screw up my files ;-)

I created my Assets for a scene in one file, put the objects into groups (each object got its own) and am then linking the group in my scene builder file.

Everything works great that far.

I now wanted to change some materials on a few of the objects that I linked, unifying them basically.

Therefore I changed the assigned material in my asset source file.

When reloading the scene builder file now I get errors corresponding to the materials changed: Lib: Material: 'InsertMaterialName' is missing from 'AssetSourceFilePath', parent ''

So it seems to still point to the old Material even though I changed it in my source file.

Does anyone know why this happens and how to fix this?

Help is greatly apprectiated.

Cheers Daniel

Edit: Removing the Materials from the scene outliner -> Blender File -> mySourceAssetFile.blend removes the errors. Though I really would like to know where this error comes from and how to "really" fix it!

Maybe I'm overlooking something but I have a problem and don't want to screw up my files ;-)

I created my Assets for a scene in one file, put the objects into groups (each object got its own) and am then linking the group in my scene builder file.

Everything works great that far.

I now wanted to change some materials on a few of the objects that I linked, unifying them basically.

Therefore I changed the assigned material in my asset source file.

When reloading the scene builder file now I get errors corresponding to the materials changed: Lib: Material: 'InsertMaterialName' is missing from 'AssetSourceFilePath', parent ''

So it seems to still point to the old Material even though I changed it in my source file.

Does anyone know why this happens and how to fix this?

Help is greatly apprectiated.

Cheers Daniel

Maybe I'm overlooking something but I have a problem and don't want to screw up my files ;-)

I created my Assets for a scene in one file, put the objects into groups (each object got its own) and am then linking the group in my scene builder file.

Everything works great that far.

I now wanted to change some materials on a few of the objects that I linked, unifying them basically.

Therefore I changed the assigned material in my asset source file.

When reloading the scene builder file now I get errors corresponding to the materials changed: Lib: Material: 'InsertMaterialName' is missing from 'AssetSourceFilePath', parent ''

So it seems to still point to the old Material even though I changed it in my source file.

Does anyone know why this happens and how to fix this?

Help is greatly apprectiated.

Cheers Daniel

Edit: Removing the Materials from the scene outliner -> Blender File -> mySourceAssetFile.blend removes the errors. Though I really would like to know where this error comes from and how to "really" fix it!

Source Link

Error when changing materials in source file of linked objects

Maybe I'm overlooking something but I have a problem and don't want to screw up my files ;-)

I created my Assets for a scene in one file, put the objects into groups (each object got its own) and am then linking the group in my scene builder file.

Everything works great that far.

I now wanted to change some materials on a few of the objects that I linked, unifying them basically.

Therefore I changed the assigned material in my asset source file.

When reloading the scene builder file now I get errors corresponding to the materials changed: Lib: Material: 'InsertMaterialName' is missing from 'AssetSourceFilePath', parent ''

So it seems to still point to the old Material even though I changed it in my source file.

Does anyone know why this happens and how to fix this?

Help is greatly apprectiated.

Cheers Daniel