Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackElectronix/status/971921083715805185
added 20 characters in body
Source Link
user3141592
  • 308
  • 3
  • 11

This week I am repairing an old Game Gear, suffering from bad video memory. The original IC is a HM65256BLFP-10T: an asynchronous Pseudo-Static 8-bit 32k-word RAM with an access time of 100ns.

I would like to replace it with a similar memory, but I do not understand some of the terminology regarding this type of ICs. Does it matter if my new RAM is rated as a CMOS Static RAM? Can I replace a PseudoSRAM with an SRAM?. Is there any risk (damaging other components or modifying the game experience in any way) on choosing a memory with more capacity or less access time?

I have been reading he datasheets of some ICs. Would either Hitachi HM62256BLFP or Sony CXK58257AM do the job? I accept suggestions

This week I am repairing an old Game Gear, suffering from bad video memory. The original IC is a HM65256BLFP-10T: an asynchronous Pseudo-Static 8-bit 32k-word RAM with an access time of 100ns.

I would like to replace it with a similar memory, but I do not understand some of the terminology regarding this type of ICs. Does it matter if my new RAM is rated as a CMOS Static RAM? Can I replace a PseudoSRAM with an SRAM?. Is there any risk (damaging other components or modifying the game experience in any way) on choosing a memory with more capacity or less access time?

I have been reading he datasheets of some ICs. Would either Hitachi HM62256BLFP or Sony CXK58257AM do the job?

This week I am repairing an old Game Gear, suffering from bad video memory. The original IC is a HM65256BLFP-10T: an asynchronous Pseudo-Static 8-bit 32k-word RAM with an access time of 100ns.

I would like to replace it with a similar memory, but I do not understand some of the terminology regarding this type of ICs. Does it matter if my new RAM is rated as a CMOS Static RAM? Can I replace a PseudoSRAM with an SRAM?. Is there any risk (damaging other components or modifying the game experience in any way) on choosing a memory with more capacity or less access time?

I have been reading he datasheets of some ICs. Would either Hitachi HM62256BLFP or Sony CXK58257AM do the job? I accept suggestions

added 28 characters in body
Source Link
dim
  • 16.1k
  • 3
  • 42
  • 85

This week I am repairing an old Game Gear, suffering from bad video memory. The original IC is a HM65256BLFP-10THM65256BLFP-10T: an asynchronous Pseudo-Static 8-bit 32k-word RAM with an access time of 100ns.

I would like to replace it with a similar memory, but I do not understand some of the terminology regarding this type of ICs. Does it matter if my new RAM is rated as a CMOS Static RAM? Can I replace a PseudoSRAM with an SRAM?. Is there any risk (damaging other components or modifying the game experience in any way) on choosing a memory with more capacity or less access time?

I have been reading he datasheets of some ICs. Would either this SRAMHitachi HM62256BLFP or this other oneSony CXK58257AM do the job?

Thank you in advantage.

This week I am repairing an old Game Gear, suffering from bad video memory. The original IC is a HM65256BLFP-10T: an asynchronous Pseudo-Static 8-bit 32k-word RAM with an access time of 100ns.

I would like to replace it with a similar memory, but I do not understand some of the terminology regarding this type of ICs. Does it matter if my new RAM is rated as a CMOS Static RAM? Can I replace a PseudoSRAM with an SRAM?. Is there any risk (damaging other components or modifying the game experience in any way) on choosing a memory with more capacity or less access time?

I have been reading he datasheets of some ICs. Would either this SRAM or this other one do the job?

Thank you in advantage.

This week I am repairing an old Game Gear, suffering from bad video memory. The original IC is a HM65256BLFP-10T: an asynchronous Pseudo-Static 8-bit 32k-word RAM with an access time of 100ns.

I would like to replace it with a similar memory, but I do not understand some of the terminology regarding this type of ICs. Does it matter if my new RAM is rated as a CMOS Static RAM? Can I replace a PseudoSRAM with an SRAM?. Is there any risk (damaging other components or modifying the game experience in any way) on choosing a memory with more capacity or less access time?

I have been reading he datasheets of some ICs. Would either Hitachi HM62256BLFP or Sony CXK58257AM do the job?

edited tags
Link
user3141592
  • 308
  • 3
  • 11
Source Link
user3141592
  • 308
  • 3
  • 11
Loading