Skip to main content
Grammar, spelling, capitalization, and punctuation fixes. Also reworded first sentence so it made more coherent sense.
Source Link

I have imported multiple mesh objects into my scene and all imported mesh objects have material names inherited from the mesh name + number prefix, rather than the texture name.

enter image description here

I have found andan excellent script here that work almost asworks to what I needwant. But the script works for single selected mesh only. Batch renaming materials to texture filename, not texture name

My problem is, if I use it on several objects that are using the same mapped texture, the material will be renamed to the texture name, but, if this new material name already exists, Blender adsadds a number suffix to the same material atas the previous mesh.

I guess this is because Blender handles it as a new material and it can’t have the same name unless you willmanually select the original material from the dropdown in material propertiesMaterial Properties.

enter image description here

Is there a way to rename the materials for all mesh objects to the name of linked textures and, in case such material already existexists, can it be reassigned instead of renamed with same name + numbersuffix, please (without texture file type extension)?

Thank you for any help in advance. Regards, Miro

I have imported multiple mesh objects into my scene and all imported mesh objects have material names inherited from the mesh name + number prefix, rather than the texture name.

enter image description here

I have found and excellent script here that work almost as I need. But the script works for single selected mesh only. Batch renaming materials to texture filename, not texture name

My problem is, if I use it on several objects that are using the same mapped texture, the material will be renamed to the texture name, but if this new material name already exists Blender ads number to same material at the previous mesh.

I guess this is because Blender handles it as a new material and it can’t have the same name unless you will select the original material from dropdown in material properties.

enter image description here

Is there a way to rename the materials for all mesh objects to the name of linked textures and in case such material already exist, can it be reassigned instead of renamed with same name + number please (without texture file type extension)?

Thank you for any help in advance. Regards, Miro

I have imported multiple mesh objects into my scene and all imported mesh objects have material names inherited from the mesh name + number prefix, rather than the texture name.

enter image description here

I have found an excellent script here that almost works to what I want. But the script works for single selected mesh only. Batch renaming materials to texture filename, not texture name

My problem is, if I use it on several objects that are using the same mapped texture, the material will be renamed to the texture name but, if this new material name already exists, Blender adds a number suffix to the same material as the previous mesh.

I guess this is because Blender handles it as a new material and it can’t have the same name unless you manually select the original material from the dropdown in Material Properties.

enter image description here

Is there a way to rename the materials for all mesh objects to the name of linked textures and, in case such material already exists, can it be reassigned instead of renamed with same name + suffix, please (without texture file type extension)?

Thank you for any help in advance. Regards, Miro

Source Link
Miro
  • 15
  • 6

Batch renaming materials to texture filename

I have imported multiple mesh objects into my scene and all imported mesh objects have material names inherited from the mesh name + number prefix, rather than the texture name.

enter image description here

I have found and excellent script here that work almost as I need. But the script works for single selected mesh only. Batch renaming materials to texture filename, not texture name

My problem is, if I use it on several objects that are using the same mapped texture, the material will be renamed to the texture name, but if this new material name already exists Blender ads number to same material at the previous mesh.

I guess this is because Blender handles it as a new material and it can’t have the same name unless you will select the original material from dropdown in material properties.

enter image description here

Is there a way to rename the materials for all mesh objects to the name of linked textures and in case such material already exist, can it be reassigned instead of renamed with same name + number please (without texture file type extension)?

Thank you for any help in advance. Regards, Miro