Skip to main content
added 118 characters in body
Source Link

I have imported a scene from CityEngine, works great in Blender as is; except the materials are all named like CityEngineMaterial_2_mat. Which is a problem within Unity where I plan to use it, as I need to assign the right texture to the Unity materials.

material desc

however I would like to rename them to the linked texture. I found a script by Killer-in-Exile at https://blenderartists.org/t/batch-rename-materials-with-file-names-of-linked-texture/1215110/5

Which does half the job, it renames the material to 'tex_2'; however I would like the filename of the texture, in this case ConcretePavement.jpg.

I have imported a scene from CityEngine, works great in Blender as is; except the materials are all named like CityEngineMaterial_2_mat.

material desc

however I would like to rename them to the linked texture. I found a script by Killer-in-Exile at https://blenderartists.org/t/batch-rename-materials-with-file-names-of-linked-texture/1215110/5

Which does half the job, it renames the material to 'tex_2'; however I would like the filename of the texture, in this case ConcretePavement.jpg.

I have imported a scene from CityEngine, works great in Blender as is; except the materials are all named like CityEngineMaterial_2_mat. Which is a problem within Unity where I plan to use it, as I need to assign the right texture to the Unity materials.

material desc

however I would like to rename them to the linked texture. I found a script by Killer-in-Exile at https://blenderartists.org/t/batch-rename-materials-with-file-names-of-linked-texture/1215110/5

Which does half the job, it renames the material to 'tex_2'; however I would like the filename of the texture, in this case ConcretePavement.jpg.

Source Link

Batch renaming materials to texture filename, not texture name

I have imported a scene from CityEngine, works great in Blender as is; except the materials are all named like CityEngineMaterial_2_mat.

material desc

however I would like to rename them to the linked texture. I found a script by Killer-in-Exile at https://blenderartists.org/t/batch-rename-materials-with-file-names-of-linked-texture/1215110/5

Which does half the job, it renames the material to 'tex_2'; however I would like the filename of the texture, in this case ConcretePavement.jpg.