Skip to main content

Timeline for PSU blue wire reads strange voltage

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

18 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 20, 2017 at 10:17 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Aug 3, 2016 at 21:51 history edited Peter Mortensen CC BY-SA 3.0
Copy edited (e.g. ref. <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volt>).
Dec 27, 2013 at 13:59 vote accept Yuri Padilha
Dec 26, 2013 at 5:07 answer added miggy timeline score: 0
Dec 26, 2013 at 4:44 comment added cybernard A few phone calls to local vendors couldn't hurt all they can do is say "no".
Dec 26, 2013 at 4:00 comment added Yuri Padilha Oh! Sorry, I really did not understand! Well I wish I could do that but it seems Best Buy won't deliver in Brazil = / I think I don't have that kind of system here, if I buy it I won't be able to take it back and get my money. I wish I could, it seems very handy to me!
Dec 26, 2013 at 3:44 comment added cybernard I think you misunderstood me. Goto to Best Buy or whatever get a brand new corsair(name brand PSU) say 650w+ and test it. If it fails to boot with that then you can take it back and get your money back.
Dec 26, 2013 at 3:18 comment added Yuri Padilha It's been a little more than 2 months since I got this computer ( I bought all together ), I think I won't be able to RMA anything ! :( I'm thinking about getting a Coursair TX750. I hope my mobo is not fried!!!!!!!!! Thanks a LOT for helping cybernard!
Dec 26, 2013 at 3:09 answer added Elliptical view timeline score: 1
Dec 26, 2013 at 3:07 comment added cybernard First the generic one probably runs out of spec and might now work. I have never heard of seventeam (which typically is BAD thing). I would get another corsair or other brand name 650w PSU and test it first. Most stores have a 30 day return policy(check for restocking fees some don't store don't have any) so if that is not it you can return it.
Dec 26, 2013 at 2:53 comment added Yuri Padilha Well, it is a generic one, 600W. I also tested a seventeam 550W.
Dec 26, 2013 at 2:37 comment added cybernard What is the make and model of your brothers PSU? There are crappy PSU that run way out of spec.
Dec 26, 2013 at 2:31 comment added cybernard How many watts is your brother PSU? If it is too few the ASUS board will know.
Dec 26, 2013 at 2:22 comment added Yuri Padilha Hum, yes, right now I can't turn it on. I guess the only thing I can do now is to wait for coursair support's answer. Most probably my PSU fried my mobo because I also tried to use my brother's PSU in my PC and I had no success, it just won't turn on.
Dec 26, 2013 at 2:14 comment added cybernard ASUS has a software package called AI Suite which, since you have an ASUS board, you can install and you can view voltages in real time. There is even a Sensor Recorder(part of AI Suite) which will record them for you over time. Since you can't turn it on this is not entirely helpful.
Dec 26, 2013 at 2:10 comment added Yuri Padilha That's pretty enlightening because it didn't work on my brother's computer too! Maybe there is a chance that my MB is not fried (: Thank you!
Dec 26, 2013 at 1:37 comment added cybernard All ASUS (as far as I know) mobo has voltage sensors on every voltage. It is highly likely that the mobo detects this unusually condition and will not turn on as a safety measure.
Dec 26, 2013 at 1:28 history asked Yuri Padilha CC BY-SA 3.0