Skip to main content

Timeline for PSU blue wire reads strange voltage

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 3, 2016 at 21:53 history edited Peter Mortensen CC BY-SA 3.0
Copy edited (e.g. ref. <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volt> and <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Light-emitting_diode>).
Dec 26, 2013 at 19:36 comment added Yuri Padilha I didn't measure the voltage of his PSU's wires, I guess I can tell him to do this for me today. Most probably it's gonna read -12v because his PSU has working just fine on his computer. When I measured the voltage of the wires I was using the paperclip method and a simple fan with neon only.
Dec 26, 2013 at 17:43 comment added miggy Just curious, using your brother's psu or any other known good psu, does the negative dc (blue wire) gives the same or significantly the same voltage?
Dec 26, 2013 at 14:32 comment added Yuri Padilha Hey Miggy! Thank you for your reply! Well, I think I did it already. Anyway I just did it all over again and had no success. Funny I measured all the wires of the PSU again and there's only one negative voltage, which is the blue wire that now reads -39.9v!! I had only a simple fan that lights up a neon connected to it when I tested. To test the PSU in the mobo I connected the CPU power ( 6 pin 12v ), connected the CPU fan in the mobo and connected the 24 pin into the mobo. Am I missing something? I tried to turn it on touching with a screwdriver into the +/- power switch contact. Hope I didOk
Dec 26, 2013 at 5:07 history answered miggy CC BY-SA 3.0