LinkedIn News’ Post

View organization page for LinkedIn News, graphic

15,747,541 followers

If you think success happens quickly, think again. “One of the biggest lies that's ever been told is that one can become an overnight success,” says Spike Lee, Oscar-winning film director. You may have to “get coffee,” but the people who are going to make it through will “claw their way.” How long did it take you to build success in your career? Tell us in the comments. #ThisIsWorking features insights from top leaders. Click here for more: https://lnkd.in/gDupmqDU 📺 Watch Daniel Roth’s full episode with Spike Lee here: https://lnkd.in/exGEMTWc 🎬Mary Wilson Antonio Mérida

Paul Banks

Getting Ideas Out ⤵️ Of Your Head, Into 👉 Video and Out 📲 to Your Socials | Video Done WITH you | Create 4 Weeks of Content (or more) for Just 20 mins of Your Time | Top LinkedIn Voice

6d

To confirm. You're now saying portrait format video is the weapon of choice here on LinkedIn, right? And also. Hell yeah. 15 years in corporate, 4years in a startup, and now, I'm king of my own castle. It's a sand castle. And I'm on the edge of the water line. And I'm digging like hell. But it's my castle 💪😂🔥

I embarked on a journey without a precise destination, guided only by the sense of personal responsibility that accompanies stepping into the unknown. After my military service, education, and a stint in the corporate world, I took that leap at age 29. The path was filled with adventure, challenges, and moments of struggle. However, failure was never an option, especially when others depended on me. Now, at 75, as I reflect on my life, I am struck by the remarkable balance we’ve achieved for our family.

Vickie Dinsmore, M.Ed.

author "Reading Sound Strategies"

5d

Success is a word with many facets. How long did it take me to become successful? It was gradual. Remember the children's classic story called "The Velveteen Rabbit" by Margery Williams? The small rabbit didn't know when he became "real." He was simply faithful to do and be what he was until one day he WAS a real rabbit. Success is like that. Each day show up and faithfully do the job set before you on that day to the best of your ability. Observe those you perceive to be successful and the way they do their jobs. Learn from them. Seek knowledge to find out what has worked for others (and what has not). Build on what others have created. Take risks to improve. Achieving success happens daily over a lifetime. It is reflected in the joy you bring to your family, your employees and your clients, students, customers, or patients. How long did career success take me? Some successes were in a day, others in a year, but reflecting over a 50 year journey, it is hard to know exactly which day success was achieved--AND I continue to aim to show up to do my best and be my best each day.

Shaun McClure

"You are best suited to serve the person you once were."

6d

The harder you work and the more you work the more will come back. I've done 25 years in prison and have achieved more than I ever have In the last 2.5 years. But I grind every day and I put in the work. An addict will do whatever it takes to get high. So I do the same now towards success. Now I'm not a success but I'm living a successful life so it will come to me.

Like
Reply
Brandon Berry

Event & facility management executive with a proven track record of driving results and maximizing the customer experience

5d

Agree. I also think “right place right time” is because that person PUT themself in that place at that time. How? They did the job that nobody wanted to do at a time when nobody wanted to do it. Mop the floor, get coffee, organize a spreadsheet. While they were there, someone noticed what they were doing and asked them to do something else. And they kept doing it.

Steven Socin

Chrysler /Stelantis Design & Development Engine Engineering- Retired

3d

All these comments on success are great and offer insight! If I may add a few thoughts! Do most people know what it is to be successful in an organization? What price are they willing to pay to gain their perception of success ? ( health, family, integrity, honesty ????) I have observed quite often climbing the corporate ladder can be quite similar to climbing a physical ladder, 🪜 the higher you climb, the more unstable your position can become! Just a thought!

Like
Reply

Very well, said, you have to keep pushing and pushing and pushing because that’s what makes you different than the rest and makes you very different than the sheep

Like
Reply
Jeff Frick

Engagement in an AI Driven, Asynchronous World | Builder | Top Voice | Video Virtuoso | Content Curator | Host, Turn the Lens podcast and Work 20XX podcast

6d

Don't forget the back half of the quote. 'Over night success... years (if not decades) in the making'

  • No alternative text description for this image
Like
Reply

Yes, I started out at the bottom of the heap, and worked my way up to coordinator and expert witness. I had good credibility when I retired. It was not so much that I clawed my way up, As that I set standards for myself and met those standards.

Richard Kies

Non-Profit Leader | Fundraiser | Accredited Business Communicator

6d

100% true. And if you somehow luck into "overnight success", chances are you won't know how to handle it or sustain it

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics