Legacy Search Advisors’ Post

Legacy Search Advisors reposted this

I think Patrice Harris' screen capture says it all! I just had to capture this statistic from a recent survey on film. I generally have FOX Baltimore playing in the background during my day and I happened to walk past my TV when this popped up. Can this be true that 26% of Gen Z has brought their parents to an interview? Hiring managers...would you eliminate these candidates immediately? Gen Z professionals....is this for real? All comments welcome! What does my Legacy Search Advisors team think? Angie Piotrowski , Lee Halbrich, Robert Hart , Nancy Davis , Marc Banz ???

  • No alternative text description for this image
Spencer Cole

I Help Private Companies With Tax Compliance

1mo

I’m a Gen Z professional. I would never. However, I’ve heard of a person who did it from my former college and it was not for an accommodation. With the way college holds everyone’s hand now- it doesn’t surprise me. I’ll also add that a ton of my peers had their parents filling out their college applications four years ago. So, parents are to blame as well.

Sam Addicott

Sales and Marketing Representative @ Navitec, Inc.

3w

This post and comment section are filled with hate, judgment, bias, and a lack of empathy. Some people don't have it made, and maybe want an adult to sit in and go over the information that would go over a lot of their heads... I WISH I had had a parent in some of my job interviews to discuss some potential red flags... It would have saved me some headaches. Golly man our country sucks. Have some love.

Like
Reply
Randy Hammond

McDANIEL COLLEGE Graduate

1mo

This is not surprising but each person's circumstances are different and people have their reasons for why they may want their family present with them at a job interview. I prefer to enter my job interviews solo.

Katie George Westerberg

Connecting talented professionals with innovative companies in IT, Accounting and Finance, Marketing, HR and Engineering.

1mo

Wait what????? Seriously???? SMH

Marc Banz

Search Advisor at Legacy Search Advisors

1mo

An even more shocking number is 29% had their parent join them during a virtual interview. I think it is best to let the young candidates try on their own. I see no issue in helping your young adult prep for an interview as we recruiter’s prep our own candidates.

Phil Boland

Executive Headhunter | People Connector | Dad

1mo

I have seen this when I was in corporate but nowhere near 26%, curious where that number came from. Typically its a disabled candidate and the parent attending is part of their accommodation.

This is a symptom, not the disease. What do you expect from a generation of children that have grown up with almost 100% adult supervision. In the end, parents are to blame..... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Coddling_of_the_American_Mind

Bridget N. Ashby

Tenured Professional with expertise in team sales. Reputation for strong work ethic leading to team results.

1mo

Absolutely ridiculous (except in extenuating circumstances, of course)!!

Brian Yacono

Ex-SAP Cybersecurity | Career break

1mo

I would be curious to learn statistically of those who brought their parent(s) to an interview, how many still landed the job? Hint: The number probably isn’t 0. And out of those who still landed a job with their parent(s) present, what compelled those employers to hire them anyway? 🤔🤷♂️

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics