Hunter Molzen’s Post

View profile for Hunter Molzen, graphic

Founder at Barbell Apparel

A lot of people might find my idea of a “vacation” a bit weird. If I’m going to take time off work - it’s going to be to do something fairly intense. Alpine rock climbing, thru-hiking, back country hunting… I’ll end my trips physically exhausted, but counter-intuitively, mentally refreshed. I’ve been an entrepreneur for pretty much my entire adult life. I never received a W-2 until I issued myself one. Which means work almost never goes away. So the act of sitting on a beach is pretty much torture. I can’t turn off work if I have a cell phone with me. And even if I found a beach without cell service, my mind keeps running. So instead I find myself drawn to “hobbies” that take 100% of my attention and focus. Maybe that’s healthy, maybe it has it’s own issues, but that’s not the actual point of this post. I’m going to be doing some long, back country hikes late this summer - and I need a new tent. An influencer I follow introduced me to the concept of “floorless” shelters that allow you to run a wood burning stove. This gives you the flexibility to stay comfortable in almost any weather - and they’re typically very light. Great concept. The influencer recommended a specific brand. It was a paid partnership, so really the brand had paid to get my attention. Now I’m in market for their product. The problem is, I’m now also instantly aware of 4-5 competitors that make similar products. And they’re all good. They all have good guarantees, long track records, great reviews, etc. But no single company is really doing anything that puts them over the top to win my business. So I’ll split hairs on features and guarantees and whatever - and make my decision. It probably won’t be the original company that got my attention. And this happens to my businesses, and your business, every. Single. Day. The wonder of the internet was that it made the barrier to starting a company, very low. The downside is that it makes discovery of your competition, very easy. So you’re essentially paying to send your competitors customers. And to some extent, it goes both ways. But if the original brand that got my attention had some sort of offer, or incentive, or ANYTHING to justify buying from them over the competitor besides the “splitting hairs” kind of stuff - I would’ve probably bought from them already. They don’t, so here I am comparison shopping. Getting attention is hard. And expensive. Once you have a prospective customer’s eyeballs, you really need to pull out all the stops to make sure they buy from you NOW. Try to go through your customer experience with an outsiders perspective, and really pick apart what dynamic you’re creating here. Unless you’re in a category of one, chances are, you’re probably sending eyeballs to your competitors unwittingly.  What would it take to win your customer NOW. Food for thought. 

⚡Mordy Rapp

Revenue Growth for Ecom Brands | Creative | Board Game Enthusiast

2w

as a dude who just got a job trying to grab the attention of others - all I have to say is "yep" as a brand - you then need to that at scale with less manpower, and also build a relationship. In any case your vacations sounds pretty fun to me

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics