The Top 24 Books of Poetry on Goodreads

Posted by Hayley on April 22, 2019
Every month is a good month to appreciate poetry, but in April it's an official thing. Founded in 1996 by the Academy of American Poets, National Poetry Month has become one of the largest literary celebrations in the world.

What better way to participate than by reading a sonnet or a verse, a haiku or a limerick? We rounded up the most popular works of poetry on Goodreads, as determined by readers. These books have all been added to Goodreads members’ shelves more than 50,000 times and have earned at least a four-star average rating. (Note: We've only included one book for each author—sorry, Shel Silverstein and William Shakespeare).

Among these beloved titles, you'll find classics by Pablo Neruda, Emily Dickinson, and Robert Frost, as well as an ancient Greek epic poem and a collection from an award-winning "Instapoet."

Take a look at the books below and then add your own recommendations in the comments! Find out more about National Poetry Month here.



Comments Showing 1-28 of 28 (28 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tatiana (last edited Apr 22, 2019 09:26AM) (new)

Tatiana You included two works by Sylvia Plath, btw.


message 2: by Tyler (new)

Tyler “The Meadow” by Kate Knapp Johnson


message 3: by Susan (new)

Susan I love Poe, and I also love Shel Silverstein.


message 4: by Kate (new)

Kate He Wishes For the Cloths of Heaven by W. B. Yeats
Desert Places by Robert Frost
The Peace of Wild Things by Wendell Berry


message 5: by Casey (new)

Casey Inside the Wave by Helen Dunmore


message 6: by Bob (new)

Bob Nelson Lawrence Ferlinghetti, A Coney Island of the Mind
Gary Snyder, Turtle Island
Richard Brautigan, Trout Fishing in America


message 7: by Teresa (new)

Teresa An Irishman Airman Foresees His Death, W B Yeats.
I love the poetry of Wilfred Owen.


message 9: by Katsuro (new)

Katsuro I'd recommend some by Fröding, too. He's Sweden's best poet, if you ask me.


message 10: by Annie (new)

Annie Pavlovich A Shropshire Lad by A.E Housman


message 11: by Christopher (last edited Apr 22, 2019 02:56PM) (new)

Christopher (Donut) The New Life (Dante, translated by D. G. Rossetti)

The House of Life

Elizabethan Sonnet Cycles: Idea, Fidesa and Chloris

Orlando Furioso (this is long)

The Hound of Heaven

Last, not least, a great, neglected poem:

The castle of indolence: an allegorical poem. Written in imitation of Spenser

... It was a Fountain of Nepenthe rare:
Whence, as Dan HOMER sings, huge Pleasaunce grew,
And sweet Oblivion of vile earthly Care;
Fair gladsome waking Thoughts, and joyous Dreams more fair.

XXVIII.

This Rite perform'd, All inly pleas'd and still,
Withouten Tromp, was Proclamation made.
" Ye Sons of INDOLENCE, do what you will;
" And wander where you list, through Hall or Glade:
" Be no Man's Pleasure for another's staid;
" Let Each as likes him best his Hours employ,
" And curs'd be he who minds his Neighbour's Trade!
" Here dwells kind Ease and unreproving Joy:
" He little merits Bliss who Others can annoy.


message 12: by Laurie B (new)

Laurie B No list of poetry is complete for me without The Dream Keeper and Other Poems by Langston Hughes.


message 13: by J (new)

J Rilke! Book of Hours is particularly beautiful.


message 14: by Alicia (new)

Alicia Croft Would be great to have a modern/contemporary list


message 15: by C I N D L E (new)

C I N D L E Shakespeare, Frost, Eliot, Yeats, and Dickinson are included so this list is definitely sound and solid with merit. I am surprised though that 'The Complete Poems' by John Keats is not in the top 24. That would round it out nicely for me.


message 16: by Robert (last edited Apr 22, 2019 07:25PM) (new)

Robert Irish Alicia wrote: "Would be great to have a modern/contemporary list"
I agree. It is predictable that the giants of poetry would dominate these places, but where are the new voices?
https://bookriot.com/2018/12/31/best-...


message 17: by Daniel Grey (new)

Daniel Grey Alicia wrote: "Would be great to have a modern/contemporary list"

Agreed! Or have a list like this where it's separated into the different types of poetry. I like both Shakespeare's sonnets and modern stuff like Saul Williams, but those require very different mindsets.


message 18: by Richard (new)

Richard Anna Lynne Williams.


message 19: by Holly (new)

Holly I'll read Yeats, Poe, and Baudelaire and I'll add Dame Edith Sitwell, my favorite poet.


message 20: by Catherine (new)

Catherine Culver I love the poetry of Mary Oliver!


message 21: by Elena (new)

Elena Inside Out & Back Again looks interesting.


message 22: by Hal (new)

Hal I'll add: The City in Which I Love You by Li-Young Lee


message 23: by Dana (new)

Dana Cristiana I was born in April 1996! <3


message 24: by Dana (new)

Dana Cristiana P.S. I read Milk & Honey and I cried! It was great!


message 25: by Jessica (new)

Jessica YESSS Sylvia Plath and Charles Baudelaire deserved to be on that list! Two of my favourites 😍✊


message 27: by Norat (new)

Norat Lyacos's Poena Damni trilogy is among the best works produced in the new millennium and should be part of the list here. Highly recommended!


message 28: by Anita (new)

Anita Allen My favorite poem is THE RAVEN by Edgar A. Poe. I memorized it in high school and I can still remember the first verse and part of the second (I am now 86). I think that the musical rhythm of the words is so wonderful. I still like to go back occasionally and reread it.

by Anita.


back to top