Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 19, 2017 at 17:42 history tweeted twitter.com/StackTravel/status/822137218219249665
Jan 19, 2017 at 11:16 comment added Relaxed Possibly just a matter of development process and technical constraints, together with some safety and regulatory requirements? A basic override is simpler than making sure you have seen at least one of these videos, providing a UI specifically for that, testing and certifying the whole thing, etc.
Jan 19, 2017 at 8:56 comment added user13044 I suppose some clever programming could allow selective blocking of announcements, as long as the crew could override that block in an emergency. As I would certainly want to hear announcements in an emergency no matter how cool the movie is.
Jan 19, 2017 at 8:51 comment added O. R. Mapper @Tom: Addendum: 'Personally, I don't have to "fire up a movie the moment I sit down", either' - although I probably should do exactly that, knowing that said announcements will block some of the time I always naively assume is available for movies later on.
Jan 19, 2017 at 8:14 comment added O. R. Mapper @Tom: Personally, I don't have to "fire up a movie the moment I sit down", either. However, with some 3 or 4 hours of a boring flight remaining and some interesting-looking movies available, I would like to have an estimate on whether I can finish a movie I start at that point, or whether a seemingly endless chain of announcements about the weather, duty and immigration rules and procedures at the destination, transit info, etc. in > 2 languages will block the in-flight entertainment for a considerable amount of time.
Jan 19, 2017 at 8:08 comment added O. R. Mapper Be happy it was only shown twice. Air Canada once treated me to four languages, for every single announcement.
Jan 19, 2017 at 8:05 comment added user13044 I can live through the multiple safety announcements, no need for me to fire up a movie the moment I sit down. But I wish we could opt out of the promotional chit chat later on, the cabin attendants talking about frequent flyer programs, duty free sales announcements, the co-pilots weather report, etc
Jan 19, 2017 at 7:55 answer added Laurent timeline score: 7
Jan 19, 2017 at 7:36 comment added JonathanReez For the same reason why it won't let you skip it altogether, even though you've probably seen it a 1000 times.
Jan 19, 2017 at 7:21 history asked Gagravarr CC BY-SA 3.0