Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link

I'm using the Blackmagic Media Express application frequently but now I'm stuck trying to transcode files using ffmpeg that will be able to play in the BME app. It seems that the BME application is extremely picky in which files to accept. I keep getting the error "The file format is not supported." I'm quite sure I've nailed down the exact ProRes codec settings for it to work. And I have set all the metadata tags that ffmpeg allows me to set. But I'm still out of luck so far .....

Here's the command string: INPUT.MXF -vf "scale=in_color_matrix=bt709:out_color_matrix=bt709,format=yuv422p10le" -c:v prores -profile:v 3 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -metadata:s:v:0 handler_name="Apple Video Media Handler" -metadata:s:v:0 vendor_id="appl" -metadata:s:v:0 encoder="Apple ProRes 422 HQ" -metadata:s:a:0 handler_name="Apple Sound Media Handler" -metadata:s:t:0 handler_name="Time Code Media Handler" -metadata creation_time="now" -c:a pcm_s16le -ar 48000 -ac 2 -timecode 00:00:00:00 -f mov OUTPUT.mov

Any help would be very much appreciated !)

I'm using the Blackmagic Media Express application frequently but now I'm stuck trying to transcode files using ffmpeg that will be able to play in the BME app. It seems that the BME application is extremely picky in which files to accept. I keep getting the error "The file format is not supported." I'm quite sure I've nailed down the exact ProRes codec settings for it to work. And I have set all the metadata tags that ffmpeg allows me to set. But I'm still out of luck so far ....

Here's the command string: INPUT.MXF -vf "scale=in_color_matrix=bt709:out_color_matrix=bt709,format=yuv422p10le" -c:v prores -profile:v 3 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -metadata:s:v:0 handler_name="Apple Video Media Handler" -metadata:s:v:0 vendor_id="appl" -metadata:s:v:0 encoder="Apple ProRes 422 HQ" -metadata:s:a:0 handler_name="Apple Sound Media Handler" -metadata:s:t:0 handler_name="Time Code Media Handler" -metadata creation_time="now" -c:a pcm_s16le -ar 48000 -ac 2 -timecode 00:00:00:00 -f mov OUTPUT.mov

Any help would be very much appreciated !)

I'm using the Blackmagic Media Express application frequently but now I'm stuck trying to transcode files using ffmpeg that will be able to play in the BME app. It seems that the BME application is extremely picky in which files to accept. I keep getting the error "The file format is not supported." I'm quite sure I've nailed down the exact ProRes codec settings for it to work. And I have set all the metadata tags that ffmpeg allows me to set. But I'm still out of luck so far .....

Here's the command string: INPUT.MXF -vf "scale=in_color_matrix=bt709:out_color_matrix=bt709,format=yuv422p10le" -c:v prores -profile:v 3 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -metadata:s:v:0 handler_name="Apple Video Media Handler" -metadata:s:v:0 vendor_id="appl" -metadata:s:v:0 encoder="Apple ProRes 422 HQ" -metadata:s:a:0 handler_name="Apple Sound Media Handler" -metadata:s:t:0 handler_name="Time Code Media Handler" -metadata creation_time="now" -c:a pcm_s16le -ar 48000 -ac 2 -timecode 00:00:00:00 -f mov OUTPUT.mov

Any help would be very much appreciated !)

Source Link

How to create a compatible encoding for the Blackmagic Media Express application using ffmpeg

I'm using the Blackmagic Media Express application frequently but now I'm stuck trying to transcode files using ffmpeg that will be able to play in the BME app. It seems that the BME application is extremely picky in which files to accept. I keep getting the error "The file format is not supported." I'm quite sure I've nailed down the exact ProRes codec settings for it to work. And I have set all the metadata tags that ffmpeg allows me to set. But I'm still out of luck so far ....

Here's the command string: INPUT.MXF -vf "scale=in_color_matrix=bt709:out_color_matrix=bt709,format=yuv422p10le" -c:v prores -profile:v 3 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -metadata:s:v:0 handler_name="Apple Video Media Handler" -metadata:s:v:0 vendor_id="appl" -metadata:s:v:0 encoder="Apple ProRes 422 HQ" -metadata:s:a:0 handler_name="Apple Sound Media Handler" -metadata:s:t:0 handler_name="Time Code Media Handler" -metadata creation_time="now" -c:a pcm_s16le -ar 48000 -ac 2 -timecode 00:00:00:00 -f mov OUTPUT.mov

Any help would be very much appreciated !)