Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 345 characters in body
Source Link
Andreas Zita
  • 209
  • 2
  • 7
  • 16

I found a stash of old video clips I'd like to share online with a HTML5-video player. But none of them opens in Chrome. I guess the codecs are not supported.

What format should I convert to? What is the recommended container and video/audio codec to use in 2022? I am using VLC (3.0.16) and the videos play nicely on my PC. But whatever combination of container/audio/video-codecs I try to convert to Chrome still won't play them. It would be nice to know what the preferred format and codecs to use...

Or should I not bother converting them like this but instead screen-capture them to a new video? Can VLC do that instead of converting? Or is that already what it does when I press "Convert/Save"?


This is a video that works fine to play:

works.mp4

And this video does not work:

doesnotwork.avi

Not even after converting it to this:

doesnotwork.mp4

I found a stash of old video clips I'd like to share online with a HTML5-video player. But none of them opens in Chrome. I guess the codecs are not supported.

What format should I convert to? What is the recommended container and video/audio codec to use in 2022? I am using VLC (3.0.16) and the videos play nicely on my PC. But whatever combination of container/audio/video-codecs I try to convert to Chrome still won't play them. It would be nice to know what the preferred format and codecs to use...

Or should I not bother converting them like this but instead screen-capture them to a new video? Can VLC do that instead of converting? Or is that already what it does when I press "Convert/Save"?

I found a stash of old video clips I'd like to share online with a HTML5-video player. But none of them opens in Chrome. I guess the codecs are not supported.

What format should I convert to? What is the recommended container and video/audio codec to use in 2022? I am using VLC (3.0.16) and the videos play nicely on my PC. But whatever combination of container/audio/video-codecs I try to convert to Chrome still won't play them. It would be nice to know what the preferred format and codecs to use...

Or should I not bother converting them like this but instead screen-capture them to a new video? Can VLC do that instead of converting? Or is that already what it does when I press "Convert/Save"?


This is a video that works fine to play:

works.mp4

And this video does not work:

doesnotwork.avi

Not even after converting it to this:

doesnotwork.mp4

Source Link
Andreas Zita
  • 209
  • 2
  • 7
  • 16

How to convert old videos to a new format that is playable in most modern browsers?

I found a stash of old video clips I'd like to share online with a HTML5-video player. But none of them opens in Chrome. I guess the codecs are not supported.

What format should I convert to? What is the recommended container and video/audio codec to use in 2022? I am using VLC (3.0.16) and the videos play nicely on my PC. But whatever combination of container/audio/video-codecs I try to convert to Chrome still won't play them. It would be nice to know what the preferred format and codecs to use...

Or should I not bother converting them like this but instead screen-capture them to a new video? Can VLC do that instead of converting? Or is that already what it does when I press "Convert/Save"?