Skip to main content
added clarification
Source Link
sdbbs
  • 1.4k
  • 5
  • 20
  • 30

As noted in list network shares from command prompt, in Command Prompt (cmd.exe), I can use the following command to list available network shares:

net view \\computer

In my case, this gives something like:

C:\Users\user> net view \\COMPUTERNAME
Shared resources at \\COMPUTERNAME

TEST-FILE

Share name             Type  Used as  Comment

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
archive                Disk           Fileserver
myfiles                Disk           Fileserver
MyShare                Disk  (UNC)
...

However, if you type net use and press enter, you should get a list of all network shares you're connected to currently. - and in my case, I get:

$ net use
New connections will be remembered.


Status       Local     Remote                    Network

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OK                     \\COMPUTERNAME\MyShare      Microsoft Windows Network
OK                     \\COMPUTERNAME\IPC$         Microsoft Windows Network
The command completed successfully.

Usually, whenever I want to access \COMPUTERNAME\\COMPUTERNAME and I am not authenticated, I need to authenticate with a login and password.

So, if the authentication dialog does not show, that means I am already logged in - but I cannot tell what username I am logged in as.

Is there any way to see from the command line, which login have I authenticated with, to gain access to \COMPUTERNAMEa \\COMPUTERNAME share?

As noted in list network shares from command prompt, in Command Prompt (cmd.exe), I can use the following command to list network shares:

net view \\computer

In my case, this gives something like:

C:\Users\user> net view \\COMPUTERNAME
Shared resources at \\COMPUTERNAME

TEST-FILE

Share name             Type  Used as  Comment

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
archive                Disk           Fileserver
myfiles                Disk           Fileserver
...

However, whenever I want to access \COMPUTERNAME, I need to authenticate with a login and password.

Is there any way to see from the command line, which login have I authenticated with, to gain access to \COMPUTERNAME share?

As noted in list network shares from command prompt, in Command Prompt (cmd.exe), I can use the following command to list available network shares:

net view \\computer

In my case, this gives something like:

C:\Users\user> net view \\COMPUTERNAME
Shared resources at \\COMPUTERNAME

TEST-FILE

Share name             Type  Used as  Comment

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
archive                Disk           Fileserver
myfiles                Disk           Fileserver
MyShare                Disk  (UNC)
...

However, if you type net use and press enter, you should get a list of all network shares you're connected to currently. - and in my case, I get:

$ net use
New connections will be remembered.


Status       Local     Remote                    Network

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OK                     \\COMPUTERNAME\MyShare      Microsoft Windows Network
OK                     \\COMPUTERNAME\IPC$         Microsoft Windows Network
The command completed successfully.

Usually, whenever I want to access \\COMPUTERNAME and I am not authenticated, I need to authenticate with a login and password.

So, if the authentication dialog does not show, that means I am already logged in - but I cannot tell what username I am logged in as.

Is there any way to see from the command line, which login have I authenticated with, to gain access to a \\COMPUTERNAME share?

Source Link
sdbbs
  • 1.4k
  • 5
  • 20
  • 30

List SMB network shares and usernames they're authenticated under from command prompt

As noted in list network shares from command prompt, in Command Prompt (cmd.exe), I can use the following command to list network shares:

net view \\computer

In my case, this gives something like:

C:\Users\user> net view \\COMPUTERNAME
Shared resources at \\COMPUTERNAME

TEST-FILE

Share name             Type  Used as  Comment

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
archive                Disk           Fileserver
myfiles                Disk           Fileserver
...

However, whenever I want to access \COMPUTERNAME, I need to authenticate with a login and password.

Is there any way to see from the command line, which login have I authenticated with, to gain access to \COMPUTERNAME share?