Skip to main content
added 23 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

Mac OS X 10 macOS Catalina (10.15 Catalina) not using correct Python interpreter within Virtual Environmentvirtual environment

Since updating to Catalina, after activating a virtual environment, it does not affect which python interpreter is called when using the python or python3 command. I confirmed that I am still using Bash as default in my terminal.

I use the which python command and it shows that it is using the system version of python.

(django_env) MacBdjango_env:django_blog user$ which python

/usr/bin/python

MacB:django_blog user$ which python
/usr/bin/python

(django_env) MacBdjango_env:django_blog user$ which python3

/usr/local/bin/python3

MacB:django_blog user$ which python3
/usr/local/bin/python3

I am able to use the venv pythonPython interpreter by referencing it by the absolute path, as a work around I was just going to setup aliases for each venv but was wondering if anyone else has seen this issue or better yet, someone had a fix for this.

Mac OS X 10.15 Catalina not using correct Python interpreter within Virtual Environment

Since updating to Catalina, after activating a virtual environment, it does not affect which python interpreter is called when using the python or python3 command. I confirmed that I am still using Bash as default in my terminal.

I use the which python command and it shows that it is using the system version of python.

(django_env) MacB:django_blog user$ which python

/usr/bin/python

(django_env) MacB:django_blog user$ which python3

/usr/local/bin/python3

I am able to use the venv python interpreter by referencing it by the absolute path, as a work around I was just going to setup aliases for each venv but was wondering if anyone else has seen this issue or better yet, someone had a fix for this.

macOS Catalina (10.15) not using correct Python interpreter within virtual environment

Since updating to Catalina, after activating a virtual environment, it does not affect which python interpreter is called when using the python or python3 command. I confirmed that I am still using Bash as default in my terminal.

I use the which python command and it shows that it is using the system version of python.

django_env:

MacB:django_blog user$ which python
/usr/bin/python

django_env:

MacB:django_blog user$ which python3
/usr/local/bin/python3

I am able to use the venv Python interpreter by referencing it by the absolute path, as a work around I was just going to setup aliases for each venv but was wondering if anyone else has seen this issue or better yet, someone had a fix for this.

Source Link

Mac OS X 10.15 Catalina not using correct Python interpreter within Virtual Environment

Since updating to Catalina, after activating a virtual environment, it does not affect which python interpreter is called when using the python or python3 command. I confirmed that I am still using Bash as default in my terminal.

I use the which python command and it shows that it is using the system version of python.

(django_env) MacB:django_blog user$ which python

/usr/bin/python

(django_env) MacB:django_blog user$ which python3

/usr/local/bin/python3

I am able to use the venv python interpreter by referencing it by the absolute path, as a work around I was just going to setup aliases for each venv but was wondering if anyone else has seen this issue or better yet, someone had a fix for this.