Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • Do you remember how long ago a long time ago is? Was it new then? Do you know anything else about this story? Any other plot elements, character descriptions, the outcome of the story? And if this is a short story can you add the [short-stories] tag? It helps catalogue questions.
    – TheLethalCarrot
    Commented Aug 29, 2018 at 12:34
  • 1
    This is basically the entire story I think. The support guy offers some other robot and the story ends there. Not much else I can remember. I don't remember exactly when I read it, but I sort of remember the book from which I read it being old and tattered, so I don't think the year I read it matters.
    – ColonD
    Commented Aug 29, 2018 at 12:44
  • 2
    Years matter because it helps track down the story, searching by date periods is very helpful. You can edit this into the question.
    – TheLethalCarrot
    Commented Aug 29, 2018 at 12:46
  • The Three Laws of Robotics? Do you remember if it was an Asimov story? (It does sound very Asimovy).
    – SQB
    Commented Aug 29, 2018 at 13:21
  • 3
    It is similar to Robbie by Asimov but doesn't match most of your description.
    – TheLethalCarrot
    Commented Aug 29, 2018 at 13:24