Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
TreeSpawned
  • 4.3k
  • 1
  • 17
  • 49
fixed link
Source Link
V2Blast
  • 50.1k
  • 10
  • 221
  • 305

I am currently reading through Rime of the Frostmaiden, a book only released in English. I have also acquired the free adventure Prisoner 13Prisoner 13 from D&D Beyond, also in English. Both of these talk about a prison called Revel's End located at the northern shore of Icewind Dale. Me and my players are however playing in German. Reading in English is not a problem for me, I would however like to translate this name to German for all of us, were we to play one of these adventures.
It

It is quite a complicated name for a non-native speaker. Therefore I am looking for any official translation for the name of this prison.

If I understand correctly Revel's End is a relatively new addition to the lore of the Forgotten Realms and has only appeared in three official products, that I know of:

  • Icewind Dale - Rime of the Frostmaiden (available only in English)
  • The D&D Movie Honor Among Thieves (available in English and German)
  • Keys from the Golden Vault (available in English and German)

I have re-watched the first couple of minutes of the D&D movie which take place in Revel's End, but I was unable to find any mention of the prison's name in there and I do not own Keys of the Golden Vault in any language. Online I could find translations for many places in Icewind Dale, such as the Three Lakes or the Ten Towns, but not Revel's End. There is also this translator on a German site translator on a German site, it sadly doesn't include Revel's End either. I

I even found this German description of Keys of the Golden Vault on D&D Beyond that mentions the prison as "Revel's End", i.e. untranslated. Which is frankly hard to believe for me. Is there really no German name for it?

I am currently reading through Rime of the Frostmaiden, a book only released in English. I have also acquired the free adventure Prisoner 13 from D&D Beyond, also in English. Both of these talk about a prison called Revel's End located at the northern shore of Icewind Dale. Me and my players are however playing in German. Reading in English is not a problem for me, I would however like to translate this name to German for all of us, were we to play one of these adventures.
It is quite a complicated name for a non-native speaker. Therefore I am looking for any official translation for the name of this prison.

If I understand correctly Revel's End is a relatively new addition to the lore of the Forgotten Realms and has only appeared in three official products, that I know of:

  • Icewind Dale - Rime of the Frostmaiden (available only in English)
  • The D&D Movie Honor Among Thieves (available in English and German)
  • Keys from the Golden Vault (available in English and German)

I have re-watched the first couple of minutes of the D&D movie which take place in Revel's End, but I was unable to find any mention of the prison's name in there and I do not own Keys of the Golden Vault in any language. Online I could find translations for many places in Icewind Dale, such as the Three Lakes or the Ten Towns, but not Revel's End. There is also this translator on a German site, it sadly doesn't include Revel's End either. I even found this German description of Keys of the Golden Vault on D&D Beyond that mentions the prison as "Revel's End", i.e. untranslated. Which is frankly hard to believe for me. Is there really no German name for it?

I am currently reading through Rime of the Frostmaiden, a book only released in English. I have also acquired the free adventure Prisoner 13 from D&D Beyond, also in English. Both of these talk about a prison called Revel's End located at the northern shore of Icewind Dale. Me and my players are however playing in German. Reading in English is not a problem for me, I would however like to translate this name to German for all of us, were we to play one of these adventures.

It is quite a complicated name for a non-native speaker. Therefore I am looking for any official translation for the name of this prison.

If I understand correctly Revel's End is a relatively new addition to the lore of the Forgotten Realms and has only appeared in three official products, that I know of:

  • Icewind Dale - Rime of the Frostmaiden (available only in English)
  • The D&D Movie Honor Among Thieves (available in English and German)
  • Keys from the Golden Vault (available in English and German)

I have re-watched the first couple of minutes of the D&D movie which take place in Revel's End, but I was unable to find any mention of the prison's name in there and I do not own Keys of the Golden Vault in any language. Online I could find translations for many places in Icewind Dale, such as the Three Lakes or the Ten Towns, but not Revel's End. There is also this translator on a German site, it sadly doesn't include Revel's End either.

I even found this German description of Keys of the Golden Vault on D&D Beyond that mentions the prison as "Revel's End", i.e. untranslated. Which is frankly hard to believe for me. Is there really no German name for it?

added 1 character in body
Source Link
TreeSpawned
  • 4.3k
  • 1
  • 17
  • 49

I am currently reading through Rime of the Frostmaiden, a book only released in English. I have also acquired the free adventure Prisoner 13 from D&D Beyond, also in English. Both of these talk about a prison called Revel's End located at the northern shore of Icewind Dale. Me and my players are however playing in German. Reading in English is not a problem for me, I would however like to translate this name to German for all of us, were we to play one of these adventures.
It is quite a complicated name for a non-native speaker. Therefore I am looking for any official translation for the name of this prison.

If I understand correctly Revel's End is a relatively new addition to the lore of the Forgotten Realms and has only appeared in three official products, that I know of:

  • Icewind Dale - Rime of the Frostmaiden (available only in English)
  • The D&D Movie Honor Among Thieves (available in English and German)
  • Keys from the Golden Vault (available in English and German)

I have re-watched tothe first couple of minutes of the D&D movie which take place in Revel's End, but I was unable to find any mention of the prison's name in there and I do not own Keys of the Golden Vault in any language. Online I could find translations for many places ofin Icewind Dale, such as the Three Lakes or the Ten Towns, but not Revel's End. There is also this translator on a German site, it sadly doesn't include Revel's End either. I even found this German description of Keys of the Golden Vault on D&D Beyond that mentions the prison as "Revel's End", i.e. untranslated. Which is frankly hard to believe for me. Is there really no German name for it?

I am currently reading through Rime of the Frostmaiden, a book only released in English. I have also acquired the free adventure Prisoner 13 from D&D Beyond, also in English. Both of these talk about a prison called Revel's End located at the northern shore of Icewind Dale. Me and my players are however playing in German. Reading in English is not a problem for me, I would however like to translate this name to German for all of us, were we to play one of these adventures.
It is quite a complicated name for a non-native speaker. Therefore I am looking for any official translation for the name of this prison.

If I understand correctly Revel's End is a relatively new addition to the lore of the Forgotten Realms and has only appeared in three official products, that I know of:

  • Icewind Dale - Rime of the Frostmaiden (available only in English)
  • The D&D Movie Honor Among Thieves (available in English and German)
  • Keys from the Golden Vault (available in English and German)

I have re-watched to first couple of minutes of the D&D movie which take place in Revel's End, but I was unable to find any mention of the prison's name in there and I do not own Keys of the Golden Vault in any language. Online I could find translations for many places of Icewind Dale, such as the Three Lakes or the Ten Towns, but not Revel's End. There is also this translator on a German site, it sadly doesn't include Revel's End either. I even found this German description of Keys of the Golden Vault on D&D Beyond that mentions the prison as "Revel's End", i.e. untranslated. Which is frankly hard to believe for me. Is there really no German name for it?

I am currently reading through Rime of the Frostmaiden, a book only released in English. I have also acquired the free adventure Prisoner 13 from D&D Beyond, also in English. Both of these talk about a prison called Revel's End located at the northern shore of Icewind Dale. Me and my players are however playing in German. Reading in English is not a problem for me, I would however like to translate this name to German for all of us, were we to play one of these adventures.
It is quite a complicated name for a non-native speaker. Therefore I am looking for any official translation for the name of this prison.

If I understand correctly Revel's End is a relatively new addition to the lore of the Forgotten Realms and has only appeared in three official products, that I know of:

  • Icewind Dale - Rime of the Frostmaiden (available only in English)
  • The D&D Movie Honor Among Thieves (available in English and German)
  • Keys from the Golden Vault (available in English and German)

I have re-watched the first couple of minutes of the D&D movie which take place in Revel's End, but I was unable to find any mention of the prison's name in there and I do not own Keys of the Golden Vault in any language. Online I could find translations for many places in Icewind Dale, such as the Three Lakes or the Ten Towns, but not Revel's End. There is also this translator on a German site, it sadly doesn't include Revel's End either. I even found this German description of Keys of the Golden Vault on D&D Beyond that mentions the prison as "Revel's End", i.e. untranslated. Which is frankly hard to believe for me. Is there really no German name for it?

edited body
Source Link
KorvinStarmast
  • 143.9k
  • 35
  • 475
  • 764
Loading
spelling
Source Link
Jack
  • 36.4k
  • 13
  • 122
  • 219
Loading
Became Hot Network Question
deleted 2 characters in body
Source Link
TreeSpawned
  • 4.3k
  • 1
  • 17
  • 49
Loading
edited title
Link
Thomas Markov
  • 152.1k
  • 30
  • 856
  • 1.2k
Loading
Source Link
TreeSpawned
  • 4.3k
  • 1
  • 17
  • 49
Loading