Skip to main content
replaced http://cogsci.stackexchange.com/ with https://cogsci.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I've noticed we get a few questions with the tag.

Here are a few questions that have the tag:

From what I can see, the tag is often applied when the OP wants to make it explicit that they want an answer to provide references to the academic literature.

My sense is that the tag was originally designed for questions where the OP is trying to find a specific paper but can't remember what it was.

I think that the standard of evidence on this site is such that references are important for any good answer. This is just part of our standard of evidence. And that most questions without the reference request tag would still expect or hope to see references to the literature.

Furthermore, I can't imagine that questions that share this tag would have anything relevant in common. And for the size of the tag, only 2 people follow the tag; contrast this with something like social psychology with 11 followers.

I prefer the idea that people just indicate in the question body that they are explicitly seeking references to the scientific literature in.

Question

So, do we need the reference-request tag?

I've noticed we get a few questions with the tag.

Here are a few questions that have the tag:

From what I can see, the tag is often applied when the OP wants to make it explicit that they want an answer to provide references to the academic literature.

My sense is that the tag was originally designed for questions where the OP is trying to find a specific paper but can't remember what it was.

I think that the standard of evidence on this site is such that references are important for any good answer. This is just part of our standard of evidence. And that most questions without the reference request tag would still expect or hope to see references to the literature.

Furthermore, I can't imagine that questions that share this tag would have anything relevant in common. And for the size of the tag, only 2 people follow the tag; contrast this with something like social psychology with 11 followers.

I prefer the idea that people just indicate in the question body that they are explicitly seeking references to the scientific literature in.

Question

So, do we need the reference-request tag?

I've noticed we get a few questions with the tag.

Here are a few questions that have the tag:

From what I can see, the tag is often applied when the OP wants to make it explicit that they want an answer to provide references to the academic literature.

My sense is that the tag was originally designed for questions where the OP is trying to find a specific paper but can't remember what it was.

I think that the standard of evidence on this site is such that references are important for any good answer. This is just part of our standard of evidence. And that most questions without the reference request tag would still expect or hope to see references to the literature.

Furthermore, I can't imagine that questions that share this tag would have anything relevant in common. And for the size of the tag, only 2 people follow the tag; contrast this with something like social psychology with 11 followers.

I prefer the idea that people just indicate in the question body that they are explicitly seeking references to the scientific literature in.

Question

So, do we need the reference-request tag?

Source Link
Jeromy Anglim
  • 30.8k
  • 16
  • 26

Do we need the "reference request" tag?

I've noticed we get a few questions with the tag.

Here are a few questions that have the tag:

From what I can see, the tag is often applied when the OP wants to make it explicit that they want an answer to provide references to the academic literature.

My sense is that the tag was originally designed for questions where the OP is trying to find a specific paper but can't remember what it was.

I think that the standard of evidence on this site is such that references are important for any good answer. This is just part of our standard of evidence. And that most questions without the reference request tag would still expect or hope to see references to the literature.

Furthermore, I can't imagine that questions that share this tag would have anything relevant in common. And for the size of the tag, only 2 people follow the tag; contrast this with something like social psychology with 11 followers.

I prefer the idea that people just indicate in the question body that they are explicitly seeking references to the scientific literature in.

Question

So, do we need the reference-request tag?