Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackPhysics/status/940182500541952003
added 4 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k

In electromagnetism, it is often referred to gauges of the electromagnetic field, such as the radiation or Coulomb gauge. As far as I know, the definition of a gauge helps us to redefine the problem in terms of a vector potential and a scalar potential that, since we have some freedom in choosing them, can be chosen in cleverest way it is possible for the given problem.

Here comes my question: is the choice of the gauge a mere mathematical simplification of the given problem? Does this choice have a physical meaning?

My troubles are actually in understanding the physical meaning of this choice of the gauge and what will change if I choose a different gauge.

In electromagnetism, it is often referred to gauges of the electromagnetic field, such as the radiation or Coulomb gauge. As far as I know, the definition of a gauge helps us to redefine the problem in terms of a vector potential and a scalar potential that, since we have some freedom in choosing them, can be chosen in cleverest way it is possible for the given problem.

Here comes my question: is the choice of the gauge a mere mathematical simplification of the given problem? Does this choice have a physical meaning?

My troubles are actually in understanding the physical meaning of this choice of the gauge and what will change if I choose a different gauge.

In electromagnetism, it is often referred to gauges of the electromagnetic field, such as the radiation or Coulomb gauge. As far as I know, the definition of a gauge helps us to redefine the problem in terms of a vector potential and a scalar potential that, since we have some freedom in choosing them, can be chosen in cleverest way it is possible for the given problem.

Here comes my question: is the choice of the gauge a mere mathematical simplification of the given problem? Does this choice have a physical meaning?

My troubles are actually in understanding the physical meaning of this choice of the gauge and what will change if I choose a different gauge.

Source Link
JackI
  • 1.8k
  • 10
  • 25

Physical meaning of gauge choice in electromagnetism

In electromagnetism, it is often referred to gauges of the electromagnetic field, such as the radiation or Coulomb gauge. As far as I know, the definition of a gauge helps us to redefine the problem in terms of a vector potential and a scalar potential that, since we have some freedom in choosing them, can be chosen in cleverest way it is possible for the given problem.

Here comes my question: is the choice of the gauge a mere mathematical simplification of the given problem? Does this choice have a physical meaning?

My troubles are actually in understanding the physical meaning of this choice of the gauge and what will change if I choose a different gauge.