Skip to main content
Question applies to al king of guitars and does not contain specific points related to acoustic. Harmony topic is implicit in scales questions moving through the guitar fretboard.
Link
Tweeted twitter.com/StackMusic/status/1557653066702266369
Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
Dracula
  • 131
  • 1
  • 3

How to read movable scale chart for A minor pentatonic?

I bought a guitar chart and it has this figure for moveable minor pentatonic scale:

minor pentatonic scale

I know the number 1 box pattern of the minor pentatonic scale (Justin guitar course). I play it starting on the 5th fret to get an A minor pentatonic scale.

When trying to understand how to read the scale diagram, I came across this - The Minor Pentatonic Scale | Guitar Lesson with Diagrams. Based on the different patterns shown there, I added those boxes and numbered them.

I have 3 questions:

  1. Without referring to a different source, how will I know from the scale diagram, which frets will be part of a pattern? For example, in 1 we have frets 1,2,3,4.
  2. It says all scale diagrams are moveable, does this mean that pattern 1 for example when moved to fret 6 will give the A# minor pentatonic?
  3. What is the benefit of using one pattern over the other?

Reference diagram used to make the boxes in the first diagram:

minor pentatonic 5 patterns