Skip to main content
copy edited
Source Link

Can iI get charged with theft for taking my car if hemy boyfriend signs the title?

I am about to end my relationship and am curious to how this would work. I had my boyfriend register themy car under his name because I couldn't afford it at the time.

I have definitely made up for the amount he spent on it. If he signs the title do I still have to register the car under my name or can I just leave and do it when I have a little more money to afford it.?

He likes to threaten to call the cops when I take the car even though I bought it and fixed it with the money from my own pocket. He hasn't put acenta cent toward it since he registered it. 

If I leave with the signed title can he call the cops for stealing? Even though itsit's my car just under his name?


I'm in newNew York I just got him to sign it he. He doesn't know I'm leaving yet. I'm leaving Saturday. I am gonnagoing to go down to the DMV tomorrow and see what I can do. 

The only reason he signed it over is because its registered under his name and he doesn't have a license. He got pulled over the other day for it. So he signed it over after a lot of stuff. He at first refused to sign it. Because I think deep down he knows I'm leaving. But I think he thinks I'm not going to. 

I'm going to see how it goes tomorrow. I just want to make sure he can't call the police and tell them I stole it. 

It was my car before I met him but he likes to hold it over my head. I don't want to get arrested over his arrogance.

Can i get charged with theft if he signs the title?

I am about to end my relationship and am curious to how this would work. I had my boyfriend register the car under his name because I couldn't afford it at the time I have definitely made up for the amount he spent on it. If he signs the title do I still have to register the car under my name or can I just leave and do it when I have a little more money to afford it. He likes to threaten to call the cops when I take the car even though I bought it and fixed it with the money from my own pocket. He hasn't put acent toward it since he registered it. If I leave with the signed title can he call the cops for stealing? Even though its my car just under his name?


I'm in new York I just got him to sign it he doesn't know I'm leaving yet. I'm leaving Saturday. I am gonna go down to the DMV tomorrow and see what I can do. The only reason he signed it over is because its registered under his name and he doesn't have a license. He got pulled over the other day for it. So he signed it over after a lot of stuff. He at first refused to sign it. Because I think deep down he knows I'm leaving. But I think he thinks I'm not going to. I'm going to see how it goes tomorrow. I just want to make sure he can't call the police and tell them I stole it. It was my car before I met him but he likes to hold it over my head. I don't want to get arrested over his arrogance.

Can I get charged with theft for taking my car if my boyfriend signs the title?

I am about to end my relationship and am curious to how this would work. I had my boyfriend register my car under his name because I couldn't afford it at the time.

I have definitely made up for the amount he spent on it. If he signs the title do I still have to register the car under my name or can I just leave and do it when I have a little more money to afford it?

He likes to threaten to call the cops when I take the car even though I bought it and fixed it with the money from my own pocket. He hasn't put a cent toward it since he registered it. 

If I leave with the signed title can he call the cops for stealing? Even though it's my car just under his name?


I'm in New York I just got him to sign it. He doesn't know I'm leaving yet. I'm leaving Saturday. I am going to go down to the DMV tomorrow and see what I can do. 

The only reason he signed it over is because its registered under his name and he doesn't have a license. He got pulled over the other day for it. So he signed it over after a lot of stuff. He at first refused to sign it. Because I think deep down he knows I'm leaving. But I think he thinks I'm not going to. 

I'm going to see how it goes tomorrow. I just want to make sure he can't call the police and tell them I stole it. 

It was my car before I met him but he likes to hold it over my head. I don't want to get arrested over his arrogance.

appended answer 48303 as supplemental
Source Link

I am about to end my relationship and am curious to how this would work. I had my boyfriend register the car under his name because I couldn't afford it at the time I have definitely made up for the amount he spent on it. If he signs the title do I still have to register the car under my name or can I just leave and do it when I have a little more money to afford it. He likes to threaten to call the cops when I take the car even though I bought it and fixed it with the money from my own pocket. He hasn't put acent toward it since he registered it. If I leave with the signed title can he call the cops for stealing? Even though its my car just under his name?


I'm in new York I just got him to sign it he doesn't know I'm leaving yet. I'm leaving Saturday. I am gonna go down to the DMV tomorrow and see what I can do. The only reason he signed it over is because its registered under his name and he doesn't have a license. He got pulled over the other day for it. So he signed it over after a lot of stuff. He at first refused to sign it. Because I think deep down he knows I'm leaving. But I think he thinks I'm not going to. I'm going to see how it goes tomorrow. I just want to make sure he can't call the police and tell them I stole it. It was my car before I met him but he likes to hold it over my head. I don't want to get arrested over his arrogance.

I am about to end my relationship and am curious to how this would work. I had my boyfriend register the car under his name because I couldn't afford it at the time I have definitely made up for the amount he spent on it. If he signs the title do I still have to register the car under my name or can I just leave and do it when I have a little more money to afford it. He likes to threaten to call the cops when I take the car even though I bought it and fixed it with the money from my own pocket. He hasn't put acent toward it since he registered it. If I leave with the signed title can he call the cops for stealing? Even though its my car just under his name?

I am about to end my relationship and am curious to how this would work. I had my boyfriend register the car under his name because I couldn't afford it at the time I have definitely made up for the amount he spent on it. If he signs the title do I still have to register the car under my name or can I just leave and do it when I have a little more money to afford it. He likes to threaten to call the cops when I take the car even though I bought it and fixed it with the money from my own pocket. He hasn't put acent toward it since he registered it. If I leave with the signed title can he call the cops for stealing? Even though its my car just under his name?


I'm in new York I just got him to sign it he doesn't know I'm leaving yet. I'm leaving Saturday. I am gonna go down to the DMV tomorrow and see what I can do. The only reason he signed it over is because its registered under his name and he doesn't have a license. He got pulled over the other day for it. So he signed it over after a lot of stuff. He at first refused to sign it. Because I think deep down he knows I'm leaving. But I think he thinks I'm not going to. I'm going to see how it goes tomorrow. I just want to make sure he can't call the police and tell them I stole it. It was my car before I met him but he likes to hold it over my head. I don't want to get arrested over his arrogance.

Source Link

Can i get charged with theft if he signs the title?

I am about to end my relationship and am curious to how this would work. I had my boyfriend register the car under his name because I couldn't afford it at the time I have definitely made up for the amount he spent on it. If he signs the title do I still have to register the car under my name or can I just leave and do it when I have a little more money to afford it. He likes to threaten to call the cops when I take the car even though I bought it and fixed it with the money from my own pocket. He hasn't put acent toward it since he registered it. If I leave with the signed title can he call the cops for stealing? Even though its my car just under his name?