Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Dec 2, 2022 at 23:57 comment added mickmackusa I don't want users to be making trivial edits. I want users to have the mindset that complete/comprehensive edits are most valued. I'd rather not have this role at all for the message that it sends to inexperienced editors.
Dec 2, 2022 at 2:24 comment added Sonic the Anonymous Hedgehog @Laurel It was removed in 2013 a couple years after suggested edits were introduced.
Nov 30, 2022 at 19:33 history edited KWriter CC BY-SA 4.0
added 55 characters in body
Nov 30, 2022 at 16:20 comment added Rob This is already set at 500, that seems fairly low already; why should it be slightly lower? (add your reply to your answer, don't hide it in a comment).
Nov 30, 2022 at 11:23 comment added Mentalist I always leave typos as they are when I come across them. Guess why... because of the character quota for edits! An edit is required to be at least x characters long. Well what should we do - fix the typo and then add a bunch of extra filler text into the question to satisfy the requirement? Nah, I'll pass. Just leave the typo in... How could this be improved? Maybe with a way to denote typo fixes as a different category of edit that doesn't warrant a high priority in the review queue.
Nov 30, 2022 at 8:30 comment added Joachim I agree with @PM2Ring: 250 seems far too low a reputation threshold to indicate even a clear understanding of a site's scope, let alone tag use.
Nov 29, 2022 at 16:12 comment added Laurel Well before my time, there was a "retag questions" privilege that was granted at 500 rep. Pretty sure it was exactly what you'd think, you can make tag edits (and only tag edits). I think it was removed after suggested edits became a thing.
Nov 29, 2022 at 9:36 comment added PM 2Ring I have mixed feelings about this. Yes, it's often easy for someone with some familiarity with the site to improve the tags on a question from a low-rep newbie. OTOH, it often requires a Subject Matter Expert to select the best set of tags, especially if the question isn't basic. FWIW, on Physics.SE, one of our most prolific tag editors is a very knowledgeable diamond mod.
Nov 29, 2022 at 9:09 history edited This_is_NOT_a_forum CC BY-SA 4.0
Active reading [<https://stackoverflow.design/brand/copywriting/naming/> <https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/entry#Noun> <https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/answer#Noun> <https://www.wikihow.com/Use-Than-and-Then>]. Added the missing punctuation.
Nov 29, 2022 at 9:02 history edited KWriter CC BY-SA 4.0
added 337 characters in body
Nov 29, 2022 at 8:47 comment added starball I'd suggest that you edit to suggest a reputation threshold and provide a rationale. Perhaps you could back up the rationale with reference to personal experience, or even better, with hard data (which would take a lot more work to do, but would result in a much more convincing post!).
Nov 29, 2022 at 8:45 history edited KWriter CC BY-SA 4.0
Explained role more in details
Nov 29, 2022 at 8:36 comment added KWriter I'm looking at thresholds. I think that at some 500 points, you get access to the triage queue. This is good, and it shouldn't be lowered. But I think that someone who checks the tags, and edits that have been marked as "I just fixed a typo in question/answer" could be done by someone who has less than 500 points in reputation. I think that approving edits that were related only to typos shouldn't be done with 2k rep, but with lower reputation. I hope that I'm more clear now.
Nov 29, 2022 at 8:15 history answered KWriter CC BY-SA 4.0