Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • I'm looking at thresholds. I think that at some 500 points, you get access to the triage queue. This is good, and it shouldn't be lowered. But I think that someone who checks the tags, and edits that have been marked as "I just fixed a typo in question/answer" could be done by someone who has less than 500 points in reputation. I think that approving edits that were related only to typos shouldn't be done with 2k rep, but with lower reputation. I hope that I'm more clear now.
    – KWriter
    Commented Nov 29, 2022 at 8:36
  • 3
    I'd suggest that you edit to suggest a reputation threshold and provide a rationale. Perhaps you could back up the rationale with reference to personal experience, or even better, with hard data (which would take a lot more work to do, but would result in a much more convincing post!).
    – starball
    Commented Nov 29, 2022 at 8:47
  • 2
    I have mixed feelings about this. Yes, it's often easy for someone with some familiarity with the site to improve the tags on a question from a low-rep newbie. OTOH, it often requires a Subject Matter Expert to select the best set of tags, especially if the question isn't basic. FWIW, on Physics.SE, one of our most prolific tag editors is a very knowledgeable diamond mod.
    – PM 2Ring
    Commented Nov 29, 2022 at 9:36
  • 1
    Well before my time, there was a "retag questions" privilege that was granted at 500 rep. Pretty sure it was exactly what you'd think, you can make tag edits (and only tag edits). I think it was removed after suggested edits became a thing.
    – Laurel
    Commented Nov 29, 2022 at 16:12
  • 2
    I agree with @PM2Ring: 250 seems far too low a reputation threshold to indicate even a clear understanding of a site's scope, let alone tag use.
    – Joachim
    Commented Nov 30, 2022 at 8:30
  • 2
    I always leave typos as they are when I come across them. Guess why... because of the character quota for edits! An edit is required to be at least x characters long. Well what should we do - fix the typo and then add a bunch of extra filler text into the question to satisfy the requirement? Nah, I'll pass. Just leave the typo in... How could this be improved? Maybe with a way to denote typo fixes as a different category of edit that doesn't warrant a high priority in the review queue.
    – Mentalist
    Commented Nov 30, 2022 at 11:23
  • 2
    This is already set at 500, that seems fairly low already; why should it be slightly lower? (add your reply to your answer, don't hide it in a comment).
    – Rob
    Commented Nov 30, 2022 at 16:20
  • @Laurel It was removed in 2013 a couple years after suggested edits were introduced. Commented Dec 2, 2022 at 2:24
  • I don't want users to be making trivial edits. I want users to have the mindset that complete/comprehensive edits are most valued. I'd rather not have this role at all for the message that it sends to inexperienced editors. Commented Dec 2, 2022 at 23:57