Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

39
  • 183
    I am going to take a break, because I don't see the point in putting in all this effort to get people to follow the guidelines and to be fair and reasoned in the face of the occasional nasty provocation from users when at any moment some staff member could throw a hissy fit and have me banished. I'm so demoralized, I'm going to generic my profile. If all of Monica's good work didn't earn her any respect, I might as well keep my head down and be user9161. It's not like SE cares who I am or what I think.
    – ColleenV
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 10:15
  • 5
    Let us hope they will not announce the massive change on a Friday... It would be better in the beginning of a week. Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 12:51
  • 45
    @Mari-Lou, Monica was also needed, but that didn't stop anybody. Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 14:07
  • 14
    @Mari-LouA needed for what? The ship has already sank. Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 14:36
  • 11
    @anonymous2 I might not have been clear enough - the bounty itself wasn't removed, but each bounty also comes with a notice (stating the stock reason, along with the optional reply). Said notice was removed by an employee. I have not been informed why, and I randomly stumbled over it when I got a notification and thought the bounty looked weird. For the record, I posted a link in the comments to an archived version which includes the post notice Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 14:47
  • 12
    @Mari-LouA I’m just taking a break. I like to wait until I’m less emotional about a situation and have had a good long think before I take drastic action. If certain staff had similar habits, I probably wouldn’t need a break.
    – ColleenV
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 15:16
  • 14
    The archived versions of the page containing the notice have since been deleted. I... I have no idea how, but I think archive.org has a policy allowing site owners to request deletion Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 15:55
  • 20
    @PrincessOlivia I've taken your call to action and given it it's own Meta post: It's time to go on strike
    – David K
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 15:56
  • 53
    Nevermind, the moderators deleted it. Per Tim Post: "This reaches the limit of the platform we're willing to give you. If you want to organize this, you're going to need to do it on your own blog or website."
    – David K
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 16:01
  • 51
    The common sense is stop contributing to a for profit company that does not respect you or your contribution as has been repeatedly demonstrated. If I could I would sue them to remove all the content I have provided because they broke their agreement with me when they relicensed my content without my permission. But is really is not worth that much trouble, they have already torpedoed their own ship and continue to do more damage than 1000 of us could by quitting.
    – user148287
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 18:21
  • 73
    I got my SO account locked for talking about my frustrations with this situation. I was not being disrespectful or getting out of hand, just talking like everyone else. It just seals it for me -- they have the content, they don't need the authors anymore. It makes me sad and angry that it's come to this, and for being so naive to think I actually mattered to these people. This isn't a community, it's a honeypot to get content that can be monetized.
    – Chris
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 20:39
  • 49
    @Chris Not to mention they feel they can relicence said content whenever they please. Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 21:28
  • 20
    Strike. Strike. Strike. (I'm not a mod though, I'm just cheering for you.)
    – einpoklum
    Commented Oct 3, 2019 at 21:18
  • 7
    @einpoklum I'm not a mod either, but every person who goes on strike helps - mod or not. Commented Oct 4, 2019 at 12:18
  • 10
    I highly suggest not reinstating if you are a Mod. They want you to do that, and that is precisely the reason they're waiting it out. Don't let these bad practices they're trying to shove down our throats go unpunished. If you give in, they win, and if they win, then nothing changes and good people will remain hurt for the benefits of a buzz word for the press. Companies that step on people for their profit deserve to die, and if that's the direction that SO wants to go, then this site should die like the rest.
    – user303172
    Commented Oct 29, 2019 at 22:19