Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 30, 2020 at 17:20 comment added Peter Duniho Yup, there's a link there. But it's not nearly as prominent as the bold-faced meta link, and frankly "For the motormouth in you!" doesn't really do anything to indicate that's a suitable place to engage moderators on site-admin topics. It strongly suggests instead that the chat room is for broad conversational discussion, and indeed if one looks in the chat room, that's what one sees. Posting there to ask about this topic (for example) would be like crashing a barber shop conversation to try to report an illegally parked car.
Apr 30, 2020 at 16:04 comment added Bob Cross Mod @PeterDuniho if you look on this page in the upper right, you'll see an explicit reference to the chat where the entire community is available. It's a great place to help refine questions, answers and generally stay in touch with each other.
Apr 30, 2020 at 15:29 comment added Peter Duniho "Do you have some suggestions on how we could make it more so?" -- a couple of things you could do: add links on the Help center pages, and include a banner or other notification on the post-question UI for the meta sub-site. Note that most pages on Help refer to meta, and the one page that refers to chat, takes you to the chat.stackexchange.com page, where there's no useful way to discover that "the-pitstop" is the appropriate chat room (frankly, even once you find that room, there's no indication it's a place to engage moderators).
Apr 30, 2020 at 13:49 comment added Bob Cross Mod @PeterDuniho you are correct that the chat is not particularly discoverable. Do you have some suggestions on how we could make it more so? I have found it to be valid for exactly this sort of circumstance when someone suggests to me that something that I've said might have sounded funny in my head but is going up their nose sideways because of reasons that I didn't think of or something didn't translate well. Then I can say "good point, sorry didn't think of that, changing now to emphasize the technical point that I was trying to make" and remove anything that distracts from the content.
Apr 29, 2020 at 20:51 comment added Peter Duniho Frankly, I was surprised at the interaction. My experience on Stack Exchange has generally been that moderators strive very hard to act professionally at all times. They set a great example that I myself find it hard to live up to at times. But the author of the post in question, a moderator themselves, was IMHO anything but professional in this particular case. I'm trying to understand if this is a cultural difference between the SE sites I'm used to vs. this one, which I'm relatively new to.
Apr 29, 2020 at 20:46 comment added Peter Duniho I appreciate the chat room as an option for raising these sorts of issues. I find the meta subsite often doesn't feel exactly like the right place. Unfortunately, the meta subsite is the one uniform place across all Stack Exchange sites, making it easily discoverable. I had no idea "the-pitstop" chat room existed, never mind was an appropriate forum for these kinds of issues.
Apr 29, 2020 at 20:44 comment added Peter Duniho "do you feel that this is still an open question" -- that depends on why the change was made. My edit was rejected, and my flag was declined (which carries a negative/harmful connotation to the author of the flag). As far as I know, the change was made only after I pursued the issue further, but the edit leaves open the question as to a) whether it was appropriate for the mod to decline the flag in the first place, especially if that mod was the author of the post, and b) whether language like that is generally considered appropriate for this site.
Apr 29, 2020 at 20:12 history answered Bob CrossMod CC BY-SA 4.0