Skip to main content
replaced http://mechanics.stackexchange.com/ with https://mechanics.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

If we haven't met, I'm Bob CrossBob Cross and I'm one of the Mechanics interim mods. I've been here since the beginning and I intend to stick around. Now's your chance to decide whether you'd like me to keep the little diamond next to my name. ;-)

If we haven't met, I'm Bob Cross and I'm one of the Mechanics interim mods. I've been here since the beginning and I intend to stick around. Now's your chance to decide whether you'd like me to keep the little diamond next to my name. ;-)

If we haven't met, I'm Bob Cross and I'm one of the Mechanics interim mods. I've been here since the beginning and I intend to stick around. Now's your chance to decide whether you'd like me to keep the little diamond next to my name. ;-)

replaced http://meta.mechanics.stackexchange.com/ with https://mechanics.meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link
  1. It is a distinct possibilitydistinct possibility that you would not be able to answer as many questions while moderating. Why do you believe that you could contribute more to the site's overall benefit as a moderator rather than a regular user?
  1. It is a distinct possibility that you would not be able to answer as many questions while moderating. Why do you believe that you could contribute more to the site's overall benefit as a moderator rather than a regular user?
  1. It is a distinct possibility that you would not be able to answer as many questions while moderating. Why do you believe that you could contribute more to the site's overall benefit as a moderator rather than a regular user?
added 5 characters in body
Source Link
Bob Cross Mod
  • 24.5k
  • 18
  • 20

If we haven't met, I'm Bob Cross and I'm one of the Mechanics interim mods. I've been here since the beginning and I intend to stick around. Now's your chance to decide whether you'd like me to keep the little diamond netnext to my name. ;-)

When emotions flare, however, it's sometimes important for you (as the mod) to take a step back and invite other voices to the conversation. Sometimes people just don't like you and there's really nothing you can do about that. Sometimes people just don't like you and there's really nothing you can do about that. As a mod, there's quite a bit of social baggage associated with the diamond next to your name. Sometimes, when a "normal" user steps in (and might say the exact same words that you just did), the dynamic changes and it's easier to reach a consensus. Because here's an important point: sometimes the new guy is right and the site is "doing it wrong." This is supposed to be a dynamic community (rather than a static one) and it's important for the mods to adapt to the new normal when it changes.

I'm a teacher & mentor: I first started teaching for pay in 1989 and I was apocalypticallyapocalyptically awful. Since then, I've always been in some sort of teaching or mentoring role. Remembering those early years has been an excellent restraint on my ego in situations where I know more than someone new. Helping someone else learn is hard work!

If we haven't met, I'm Bob Cross and I'm one of the Mechanics interim mods. I've been here since the beginning and I intend to stick around. Now's your chance to decide whether you'd like me to keep the little diamond net to my name. ;-)

When emotions flare, however, it's sometimes important for you (as the mod) to take a step back and invite other voices to the conversation. Sometimes people just don't like you and there's really nothing you can do about that. As a mod, there's quite a bit of social baggage associated with the diamond next to your name. Sometimes, when a "normal" user steps in (and might say the exact same words that you just did), the dynamic changes and it's easier to reach a consensus. Because here's an important point: sometimes the new guy is right and the site is "doing it wrong." This is supposed to be a dynamic community (rather than a static one) and it's important for the mods to adapt to the new normal when it changes.

I'm a teacher & mentor: I first started teaching for pay in 1989 and I was apocalyptically awful. Since then, I've always been in some sort of teaching or mentoring role. Remembering those early years has been an excellent restraint on my ego in situations where I know more than someone new. Helping someone else learn is hard work!

If we haven't met, I'm Bob Cross and I'm one of the Mechanics interim mods. I've been here since the beginning and I intend to stick around. Now's your chance to decide whether you'd like me to keep the little diamond next to my name. ;-)

When emotions flare, however, it's sometimes important for you (as the mod) to take a step back and invite other voices to the conversation. Sometimes people just don't like you and there's really nothing you can do about that. As a mod, there's quite a bit of social baggage associated with the diamond next to your name. Sometimes, when a "normal" user steps in (and might say the exact same words that you just did), the dynamic changes and it's easier to reach a consensus. Because here's an important point: sometimes the new guy is right and the site is "doing it wrong." This is supposed to be a dynamic community (rather than a static one) and it's important for the mods to adapt to the new normal when it changes.

I'm a teacher & mentor: I first started teaching for pay in 1989 and I was apocalyptically awful. Since then, I've always been in some sort of teaching or mentoring role. Remembering those early years has been an excellent restraint on my ego in situations where I know more than someone new. Helping someone else learn is hard work!

added 327 characters in body
Source Link
Bob Cross Mod
  • 24.5k
  • 18
  • 20
Loading
Source Link
Bob Cross Mod
  • 24.5k
  • 18
  • 20
Loading