Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 20, 2023 at 18:08 comment added legionwhale Thank you. I appreciate the kind words.
Sep 19, 2023 at 1:40 comment added Mike Earnest @legionwhale I think the topic in your comment is one of the hardest parts of probability. With the way you are practicing, I am sure you will improve. You are doing great already :)
Sep 18, 2023 at 19:48 comment added legionwhale Thanks for the answer, Mike. I think you've given a different and simpler approach to finding $\mathbb{P}(S_n)$ (for my def. of $S_n$) for which it's clearer that the reasoning valid, which has definitely helped. Intuitively, it feels like conditional probability is a sort of quotient (well, I guess, mathematically it is that also) by "irrelevant considerations" and the second question is roughly "How can I be sure about what exactly has been quotiented out?" -- a more general confusion which is probably best solved by myself getting more practice. Thanks again.
Sep 18, 2023 at 19:43 vote accept legionwhale
Sep 18, 2023 at 19:00 history answered Mike Earnest CC BY-SA 4.0