Skip to main content
typo
Source Link
azimut
  • 23.1k
  • 10
  • 72
  • 136

I was looking for a list of theorems that disappointed mathematicians, in the sense that some disgruntlement regarding the fact that the theorem in consideration being true/false was notable. An example could be a theorem whose negation was notably hoped to be true or a theorem which ended up implying the negation of statements notably hoped to be true. The only examples I know are Godel’sGödel’s incompleteness theorems, and I was hoping to know if there are any other similar examples.

Thank you.

I was looking for a list of theorems that disappointed mathematicians, in the sense that some disgruntlement regarding the fact that the theorem in consideration being true/false was notable. An example could be a theorem whose negation was notably hoped to be true or a theorem which ended up implying the negation of statements notably hoped to be true. The only examples I know are Godel’s incompleteness theorems, and I was hoping to know if there are any other similar examples.

Thank you.

I was looking for a list of theorems that disappointed mathematicians, in the sense that some disgruntlement regarding the fact that the theorem in consideration being true/false was notable. An example could be a theorem whose negation was notably hoped to be true or a theorem which ended up implying the negation of statements notably hoped to be true. The only examples I know are Gödel’s incompleteness theorems, and I was hoping to know if there are any other similar examples.

Thank you.

Removed from Network Questions by Xander Henderson
Became Hot Network Question
Post Reopened by Shaun, oliverjones, K. Grammatikos, J. W. Tanner, littleO
added 205 characters in body
Source Link
QED
  • 889
  • 5
  • 9

I was looking for a list of theorems that disappointed mathematicians, in the sense that they were "disappointed by reality”some disgruntlement regarding the fact that the theorem in consideration being true/false was notable. An example could be a theorem whose negation was notably hoped to be true or a theorem which ended up implying the negation of statements notably hoped to be true. The only examples I believe might fall in this categoryknow are Godel’s incompleteness theorems, and I was hoping to know if there are any other similar examples.

Thank you.

I was looking for a list of theorems that disappointed mathematicians, in the sense that they were "disappointed by reality”. The only examples I believe might fall in this category are Godel’s incompleteness theorems, and I was hoping to know if there are any similar examples.

Thank you.

I was looking for a list of theorems that disappointed mathematicians, in the sense that some disgruntlement regarding the fact that the theorem in consideration being true/false was notable. An example could be a theorem whose negation was notably hoped to be true or a theorem which ended up implying the negation of statements notably hoped to be true. The only examples I know are Godel’s incompleteness theorems, and I was hoping to know if there are any other similar examples.

Thank you.

Post Closed as "Opinion-based" by oliverjones, Sean Roberson, José Carlos Santos, John Douma, Cameron Williams
edited tags
Link
Shaun
  • 45.8k
  • 19
  • 69
  • 180
edited tags
Link
Peter
  • 85.1k
  • 17
  • 78
  • 223
Loading
Source Link
QED
  • 889
  • 5
  • 9
Loading