Skip to main content
Commonmark migration
Source Link

I do not know whether from the rotating formula above, can we obtain the whole 360 degrees orientation.

 

[H]owever, if possible, I would like to obtain this difference as well.

[this Geogebra worksheet][1]this Geogebra worksheet

Hope that helps. As always, let me know if anything is confusing so I can make it better (more useful to you). [1]: http://www.geogebratube.org/material/show/id/45026

I do not know whether from the rotating formula above, can we obtain the whole 360 degrees orientation.

 

[H]owever, if possible, I would like to obtain this difference as well.

[this Geogebra worksheet][1]

Hope that helps. As always, let me know if anything is confusing so I can make it better (more useful to you). [1]: http://www.geogebratube.org/material/show/id/45026

I do not know whether from the rotating formula above, can we obtain the whole 360 degrees orientation.

[H]owever, if possible, I would like to obtain this difference as well.

this Geogebra worksheet

Hope that helps. As always, let me know if anything is confusing so I can make it better (more useful to you).

deleted 37 characters in body
Source Link

First, No, your- No. Your formula does not distinguish positions 180° apart. This is a property of the formula, not the ellipse. Say I make an ellipse out of rigid wire and rotate it. Since I can tell the difference between the two ends...

Second, yes-- Yes it is possible. I see you have marked one end with a red dot. That'll do nicely. The trick is to measure in a way that preserves thethis difference. The following steps are fleshed out with working examples in

First, No, your formula does not distinguish positions 180° apart. This is a property of the formula, not the ellipse. Say I make an ellipse out of rigid wire and rotate it. Since I can tell the difference between the two ends...

Second, yes it is possible. The trick is to measure in a way that preserves the difference. The following steps are fleshed out with working examples in

First- No. Your formula does not distinguish positions 180° apart. This is a property of the formula, not the ellipse.

Second-- Yes it is possible. I see you have marked one end with a red dot. That'll do nicely. The trick is to measure in a way that preserves this difference. The following steps are fleshed out with working examples in

deleted 237 characters in body
Source Link

When atan(-) falls out of range, dθ leaps suddenly. Go back aone step and use atan(+), which is (which will be in range) to measure dθ. When atan(+) jumps, go back to (-)... etc. YouAlways use two consecutive values of the same function to calculate dθ. Now you can track θ over the full 360°. Since Since you're only using the change in angle, it doesn't matter if atan() is close to θ.

The worksheet follows the same principle, but I onlyjust use atan(-).

When atan(-) falls out of range, dθ leaps suddenly. Go back a step and use atan(+), which is in range. When atan(+) jumps, go back to (-)... etc. You can track θ over the full 360°. Since you're only using the change in angle, it doesn't matter if atan() is close to θ.

The worksheet follows the same principle, but I only use atan(-).

When atan(-) falls out of range, dθ leaps suddenly. Go back one step and use atan(+) (which will be in range) to measure dθ. When atan(+) jumps, go back to (-)... etc. Always use two consecutive values of the same function to calculate dθ. Now you can track θ over the full 360°. Since you're only using the change in angle, it doesn't matter if atan() is close to θ.

The worksheet follows the same principle, but I just use atan(-).

deleted 237 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
cleanup
Source Link
Loading
added 1 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
deleted 27 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading