Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 26, 2013 at 12:40 comment added Nikolaj-K @mike: I pointed out the the graph of $x^x$ is positive and so I showed $4^4<5^5$. I didn't solve your problem though, I misinterpreted it. Btw. you can go to the website Wolphramalpha.com and plot any function you like, for exmaple by typing Plot[x^x,{x,1,3}] or Plot[x^(1/x),{x,1,3}].
Jul 26, 2013 at 12:29 comment added mike I'm sorry Nick but could you explain this to me better, or maybe draw a graph, I think I'm a little bit cofused
Jul 26, 2013 at 11:53 comment added Nikolaj-K @AmiteshDatta: Don't worry, I'm not a fan of the reputation system anyway. (It makes people feel they need to write in a certain style once they got some, and on the other side, if a poster with many points posted an answer, even if it's only an OK answer, often no more answers follow. I recently spent 1500 points on bounties just to get rid of it. On the physics board, I spent about 5000 points on bounties - and I can now empirically say that it doesn't improve the answer quality. The questions which get bounties are usually so hard (or broad) that nobody bothers anyway.)
Jul 26, 2013 at 11:19 comment added Amitesh Datta No problem, Nick! I would still upvote your answer nonetheless (because it presents a new idea) but I've exhausted my daily vote limit of 40 votes. But I will upvote your answer tomorrow!
Jul 26, 2013 at 10:41 comment added Nikolaj-K @AmiteshDatta: Oh, yeah that's right. My bad.
Jul 26, 2013 at 10:03 comment added Amitesh Datta Yes, that's true but we're not looking at numbers of the form $x^{x}$ here; rather, we're looking at numbers of the form $x^{\frac{1}{x}}$ ...
Jul 26, 2013 at 10:01 history answered Nikolaj-K CC BY-SA 3.0