Skip to main content
More-informative title
Link
Blue
  • 78.1k
  • 14
  • 121
  • 240

Why is mathematical induction necessary to prove results (eg, commutativity) for natural numbers but not for real numbers?

Grammar
Source Link
egreg
  • 240k
  • 18
  • 148
  • 333

Why is mathematical induction necessary to prove $n \cdot m = m \cdot n$ for natural $n$ and $m$, but not for real $n$ and $m$?

i'veI've been studying the construction of the natural numbers, and iI can't solvedsolve my own question, my question is:namely

Why is it necessary to use mathematical induction?

Why is necessary use the mathematical induction? Let me clarify this, for. For example, we know ifthat, for all $n,m \in \mathbb{N}$, then $n \cdot m = m \cdot n.$ For$n \cdot m = m \cdot n$. In order to prove this, we use mathematical induction, but when we think about $n,m \in \mathbb{R}$ real(real numbers), for in order to prove $n \cdot m= m \cdot n,$$n \cdot m= m \cdot n$, we don't need mathemathicalmathematical induction  .

Why sometimes in a proof it's enough to take $x \in \mathbb{R}$, arbitrary number, but for natural numbers is necessary mathematical induction. is necessary?

Anyone can help me, please?

I'llI hope onesomebody can give me a hint forin order to understand this question.

Why is mathematical induction necessary to prove $n \cdot m = m \cdot n$ for natural $n$ and $m$, but not for real $n$ and $m$?

i've been studying the construction of the natural numbers, and i can't solved my own question, my question is:

Why is necessary use the mathematical induction? Let me clarify this, for example, we know if for all $n,m \in \mathbb{N}$ then $n \cdot m = m \cdot n.$ For prove this, we use mathematical induction, but when think about $n,m \in \mathbb{R}$ real numbers, for prove $n \cdot m= m \cdot n,$ don't need mathemathical induction  .

Why sometimes in a proof it's enough take $x \in \mathbb{R}$ arbitrary number but for natural numbers is necessary mathematical induction.

Anyone can help me, please?

I'll hope one give me a hint for understand this question.

Why is mathematical induction necessary?

I've been studying the construction of the natural numbers, and I can't solve my own question, namely

Why is it necessary to use mathematical induction?

Let me clarify this. For example, we know that, for all $n,m \in \mathbb{N}$, then $n \cdot m = m \cdot n$. In order to prove this, we use mathematical induction, but when we think about $n,m \in \mathbb{R}$ (real numbers), in order to prove $n \cdot m= m \cdot n$, we don't need mathematical induction.

Why sometimes in a proof it's enough to take $x \in \mathbb{R}$, arbitrary number, but for natural numbers mathematical induction is necessary?

Anyone can help me, please?

I hope somebody can give me a hint in order to understand this question.

More-informative title
Source Link
Blue
  • 78.1k
  • 14
  • 121
  • 240

Why is necessary mathematical induction necessary to prove $n \cdot m = m \cdot n$ for natural $n$ and $m$, but not for real $n$ and $m$?

i've been studying the construction of the natural numbers, and i can't solved my own question, my question is:

Why is neccesarynecessary use the mathematical induction? Let me clarify this, for example, we know if for all $n,m \in \mathbb{N}$ then $n \cdot m = m \cdot n.$ For prove this, we use mathematical induction, but when think about $n,m \in \mathbb{R}$ real numbers, for prove $n \cdot m= m \cdot n,$ don't need mathemathical induction .

Why sometimes in a proof it's enough take $x \in \mathbb{R}$ arbitrary number but for natural numbers is necessary mathematical induction.

Anyone can help me, please?

I'll hope one give me a hint for understand this question.

Why is necessary mathematical induction?

i've been studying the construction of the natural numbers, and i can't solved my own question, my question is:

Why is neccesary use the mathematical induction? Let me clarify this, for example, we know if for all $n,m \in \mathbb{N}$ then $n \cdot m = m \cdot n.$ For prove this, we use mathematical induction, but when think about $n,m \in \mathbb{R}$ real numbers, for prove $n \cdot m= m \cdot n,$ don't need mathemathical induction .

Why sometimes in a proof it's enough take $x \in \mathbb{R}$ arbitrary number but for natural numbers is necessary mathematical induction.

Anyone can help me, please?

I'll hope one give me a hint for understand this question.

Why is mathematical induction necessary to prove $n \cdot m = m \cdot n$ for natural $n$ and $m$, but not for real $n$ and $m$?

i've been studying the construction of the natural numbers, and i can't solved my own question, my question is:

Why is necessary use the mathematical induction? Let me clarify this, for example, we know if for all $n,m \in \mathbb{N}$ then $n \cdot m = m \cdot n.$ For prove this, we use mathematical induction, but when think about $n,m \in \mathbb{R}$ real numbers, for prove $n \cdot m= m \cdot n,$ don't need mathemathical induction .

Why sometimes in a proof it's enough take $x \in \mathbb{R}$ arbitrary number but for natural numbers is necessary mathematical induction.

Anyone can help me, please?

I'll hope one give me a hint for understand this question.

edited tags
Link
Arturo Magidin
  • 404.6k
  • 57
  • 833
  • 1.1k
Loading
Source Link
Davis M
  • 133
  • 3
Loading