Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 20, 2014 at 15:21 vote accept Haikal Yeo
May 3, 2013 at 18:43 comment added Dan Rust I used Wikipedia's definition of genus=(2 + #crossings - #seifert_circles - #knot_components)/2 If $K$ is a knot, this becomes genus=(1 + #crossings - #seifert_circles)/2. Without drawing a picture I can't really show how I got 3 circles but I guess I got one small circle at the top, and then one big circle with another smaller circle on the inside. That's the best way I can describe it. I can draw a picture if it's still not clear but I would suggest drawing it again for yourself and carefully going through the crossing switches.
May 3, 2013 at 18:29 comment added Haikal Yeo How do you get 3 Seifert circles for the figure 8 knot? I used the diagram from Wikipedia (which I hope is the standard diagram) and only managed to get 2 - the topmost "hole" and the bottom-middle "hole". Apologies if that wasn't the best descrption. Also, isn't the formula $g(S)=(c-s+1)/2? Where did your number 2 come in?
May 3, 2013 at 13:20 history edited Dan Rust CC BY-SA 3.0
added 33 characters in body
May 3, 2013 at 12:31 history answered Dan Rust CC BY-SA 3.0