Skip to main content
Bounty Ended with Tim van Beek's answer chosen by CommunityBot
Post Made Community Wiki by Qiaochu Yuan
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by Vicfred
edited tags
Link
davidlowryduda
  • 92.6k
  • 11
  • 170
  • 317
Source Link
Vicfred
  • 2.8k
  • 6
  • 27
  • 36

Is learning (theoretical) physics useful/important for a mathematician?

I'm starting to read The Princeton Companion to Mathematics, at the beginning it says:

A proper appreciation of pure mathematics requires some knowledge of applied mathematics and theoretical physics.

Some of my professors have told me that modern Mathematics require some knowledge about Quantum Mechanics and theoretical Physics.

I attended the second and third day of the José Adem Memorial Lecture Series by Matilde Marcolli at the beginning of this year, they were about Number theory, Quantum statistical Mechanics and Quantum Field theory. I did not understand a single word but somehow the few things I understood had a big impression on me.

Please give me some examples of pure Mathematics that require/use Physics.