Skip to main content
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
Especially Lime
  • 41.7k
  • 9
  • 57
  • 86

Assume you pick cards from a deck of cards at random without replacement (i.e. don't put it back in the deck once you pick it). How many cards must be picked to guarantee you have 10 cards of the same suit?

Standard deck of 52 cards. 13 cards in each suit. The four suits are Clubs, Hearts, Diamonds, and Spades.

I believe that this is a example of the pigeon hole principle and I want some assurance that I am doing this correctly

would the answer be:

4(10 - 1) + 1 = 37$4(10 - 1) + 1 = 37$ cards

because there are four different suits and I have to have 10 cards of the same suit?

Assume you pick cards from a deck of cards at random without replacement (i.e. don't put it back in the deck once you pick it). How many cards must be picked to guarantee you have 10 cards of the same suit?

Standard deck of 52 cards. 13 cards in each suit. The four suits are Clubs, Hearts, Diamonds, and Spades.

I believe that this is a example of the pigeon hole principle and I want some assurance that I am doing this correctly

would the answer be:

4(10 - 1) + 1 = 37 cards

because there are four different suits and I have to have 10 cards of the same suit?

Assume you pick cards from a deck of cards at random without replacement (i.e. don't put it back in the deck once you pick it). How many cards must be picked to guarantee you have 10 cards of the same suit?

Standard deck of 52 cards. 13 cards in each suit. The four suits are Clubs, Hearts, Diamonds, and Spades.

I believe that this is a example of the pigeon hole principle and I want some assurance that I am doing this correctly

would the answer be:

$4(10 - 1) + 1 = 37$ cards

because there are four different suits and I have to have 10 cards of the same suit?

edited tags
Link
David smith
  • 139
  • 2
  • 11
Source Link
David smith
  • 139
  • 2
  • 11

How many cards must be picked to guarantee you have 10 cards of the same suit?

Assume you pick cards from a deck of cards at random without replacement (i.e. don't put it back in the deck once you pick it). How many cards must be picked to guarantee you have 10 cards of the same suit?

Standard deck of 52 cards. 13 cards in each suit. The four suits are Clubs, Hearts, Diamonds, and Spades.

I believe that this is a example of the pigeon hole principle and I want some assurance that I am doing this correctly

would the answer be:

4(10 - 1) + 1 = 37 cards

because there are four different suits and I have to have 10 cards of the same suit?