Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 19, 2021 at 1:57 comment added Layne B Ah, that helps. Thanks!
Jan 15, 2021 at 20:50 comment added prony When we multiply with 5! we consider all the possible permutations. However, there are some permutations we already considered. If we dont discard them we just over-count the permutations. So the first 2! discards the already considered permutations between the first two cards. The second 2! discards the already considered permutations between the third and fourth cards. The third 2! discards already considered permutations between the first and second pair.
Jan 13, 2021 at 7:12 comment added Layne B I came up with this method on my own while trying to do a problem for Combinatorics, you're the only person I found online talking about this method so thanks for that! But I don't understand the part where you divide by 2!*2!*2!, I feel like it has to do with the implicit separation of the cards into different cases, but I just don't really follow it. Would you mean explaining a bit more? And when I think about the combination equivalent I get even more confused. The pattern is x x y y z, but the two x's and two y's are distinct cards in the pack.
Sep 7, 2019 at 15:20 review Low quality posts
Sep 7, 2019 at 19:48
Sep 7, 2019 at 15:15 review Late answers
Sep 7, 2019 at 15:17
Sep 7, 2019 at 14:59 history answered prony CC BY-SA 4.0