Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackMath/status/792991384475172864
edited title
Link
Ahmed Amir
  • 1k
  • 11
  • 15

It is Is it possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane where the distance between any pair is rational?

added 8 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
Caleb Stanford
  • 46.1k
  • 8
  • 72
  • 167

It is possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane... where the distance between any pair is rational?

The question is written like this: Is it possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane, not all on the same straight line, such that the distance between EVERY pair of points is rational?

Is it possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane, not all on the same straight line, such that the distance between EVERY pair of points is rational?

This would be so easy if these points could be on the same straight line, but I couldn't get any idea to solve the question above(not all points on the same straight line). I believe there must be a kind of concatenation between the points but I couldn't figure it out.

What I tried is totally mess.. I tried to draw some triangles and to connect some points from one triangle to another, but in vain...

Note:Note: I want to see a real example of such an infinite set of points in the plane that can be an answer for the question. A graph for these points would be helpful.

It is possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane...

The question is written like this: Is it possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane, not all on the same straight line, such that the distance between EVERY pair of points is rational?

This would be so easy if these points could be on the same straight line, but I couldn't get any idea to solve the question above(not all points on the same straight line). I believe there must be a kind of concatenation between the points but I couldn't figure it out.

What I tried is totally mess.. I tried to draw some triangles and to connect some points from one triangle to another but in vain...

Note: I want to see a real example of such an infinite set of points in the plane that can be an answer for the question. A graph for these points would be helpful

It is possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane where the distance between any pair is rational?

The question is written like this:

Is it possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane, not all on the same straight line, such that the distance between EVERY pair of points is rational?

This would be so easy if these points could be on the same straight line, but I couldn't get any idea to solve the question above(not all points on the same straight line). I believe there must be a kind of concatenation between the points but I couldn't figure it out.

What I tried is totally mess. I tried to draw some triangles and to connect some points from one triangle to another, but in vain.

Note: I want to see a real example of such an infinite set of points in the plane that can be an answer for the question. A graph for these points would be helpful.

correcten the title
Link
Masacroso
  • 30.7k
  • 7
  • 37
  • 95

Is it It is possible to find an infinite set of points in the plane...

Source Link
Ahmed Amir
  • 1k
  • 11
  • 15
Loading