Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link
Mahmudul Hasan
  • 711
  • 1
  • 6
  • 20

P, Q and R are the points on a plane

  • How many points are possible in the plane that are equidistant from both P and Q?
  • If R is equidistant from both P and Q, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.
  • If R does lie on line PQ but not equidistant from P and Q, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.
  • If R does not lie on line PQ, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.

For $1$, I find infinite points in up and down through the middle point of line PQ.

For $2$, I find noone point

For $3$, I find no point

For $4$, I find only one point

Though this all is my guess after sketching lines on paper. Can anyone explain how to solve these?

P, Q and R are the points on a plane

  • How many points are possible in the plane that are equidistant from both P and Q?
  • If R is equidistant from both P and Q, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.
  • If R does lie on line PQ but not equidistant from P and Q, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.
  • If R does not lie on line PQ, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.

For $1$, I find infinite points in up and down through the middle point of line PQ.

For $2$, I find no point

For $3$, I find no point

For $4$, I find only one point

Though this all is my guess after sketching lines on paper. Can anyone explain how to solve these?

P, Q and R are the points on a plane

  • How many points are possible in the plane that are equidistant from both P and Q?
  • If R is equidistant from both P and Q, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.
  • If R does lie on line PQ but not equidistant from P and Q, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.
  • If R does not lie on line PQ, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.

For $1$, I find infinite points in up and down through the middle point of line PQ.

For $2$, I find one point

For $3$, I find no point

For $4$, I find only one point

Though this all is my guess after sketching lines on paper. Can anyone explain how to solve these?

Source Link
Mahmudul Hasan
  • 711
  • 1
  • 6
  • 20

How many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.

P, Q and R are the points on a plane

  • How many points are possible in the plane that are equidistant from both P and Q?
  • If R is equidistant from both P and Q, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.
  • If R does lie on line PQ but not equidistant from P and Q, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.
  • If R does not lie on line PQ, then how many points are possible in the plane that are the same distance from all three points.

For $1$, I find infinite points in up and down through the middle point of line PQ.

For $2$, I find no point

For $3$, I find no point

For $4$, I find only one point

Though this all is my guess after sketching lines on paper. Can anyone explain how to solve these?