Skip to main content
added 292 characters in body
Source Link

There are methods to add two lines of arbitrary lengths or multiply them together known since Greek times; and more advanced methods based on hethe concepts of bases and units.

But, I have not been able to find a way to exponentiate a number geometrically without using algebra. I would love if someone could somehow illustrate the concept.

Basically I am asking is it possible to draw the graph of a^x geometrically.

On questions raised by Aretino and RickyDemer I want to clarify that: I am talking about Euclidean geometry (so a collapsible compass,straight-edge are allowed); although, Cartesian geometry is fine, too.

Also, is there a book that can teach a basic concept as this? You know, a book on Euclidean geometry that teaches exponentiation, multiplication etc.

There are methods to add two lines of arbitrary lengths or multiply them together known since Greek times; and more advanced methods based on he concepts of bases and units.

But, I have not been able to find a way to exponentiate a number geometrically without using algebra. I would love if someone could somehow illustrate the concept.

Also, is there a book that can teach a basic concept as this? You know, a book on Euclidean geometry that teaches exponentiation, multiplication etc.

There are methods to add two lines of arbitrary lengths or multiply them together known since Greek times; and more advanced methods based on the concepts of bases and units.

But, I have not been able to find a way to exponentiate a number geometrically without using algebra. I would love if someone could somehow illustrate the concept.

Basically I am asking is it possible to draw the graph of a^x geometrically.

On questions raised by Aretino and RickyDemer I want to clarify that: I am talking about Euclidean geometry (so a collapsible compass,straight-edge are allowed); although, Cartesian geometry is fine, too.

Also, is there a book that can teach a basic concept as this? You know, a book on Euclidean geometry that teaches exponentiation, multiplication etc.

added 88 characters in body
Source Link

There are methods to add two lines of arbitrary lengths or multiply them together known since Greek times; and more advanced methods based on he concepts of bases and units.

But, I have not been able to find a way to exponentiate a number geometrically without using algebra. I would love if someone could somehow illustrate the concept.

Also, is there a book that can teach a basic concept as this? You know, a book on Euclidean geometry that teaches exponentiation, multiplication etc.

There are methods to add two lines of arbitrary lengths or multiply them together known since Greek times; and more advanced methods based on he concepts of bases and units.

But, I have not been able to find a way to exponentiate a number geometrically without using algebra. I would love if someone could somehow illustrate the concept.

Also, is there a book that can teach a basic concept as this?

There are methods to add two lines of arbitrary lengths or multiply them together known since Greek times; and more advanced methods based on he concepts of bases and units.

But, I have not been able to find a way to exponentiate a number geometrically without using algebra. I would love if someone could somehow illustrate the concept.

Also, is there a book that can teach a basic concept as this? You know, a book on Euclidean geometry that teaches exponentiation, multiplication etc.

Source Link

How to raise a number to a power geometrically.

There are methods to add two lines of arbitrary lengths or multiply them together known since Greek times; and more advanced methods based on he concepts of bases and units.

But, I have not been able to find a way to exponentiate a number geometrically without using algebra. I would love if someone could somehow illustrate the concept.

Also, is there a book that can teach a basic concept as this?