Skip to main content
replaced http://math.stackexchange.com/ with https://math.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

One friend asked me to find which one is bigger: $9^{17}$ and $7^{19}$ using basic calculations only. I gave him a solution by using the technique given in herehere. However, it was not that basic since I had to go up to $6$th term: ${17\choose 5} \left(\frac{2}{7}\right)^5$, computation of which was not easy without calculator.

Can anyone give me a simpler solution (which does not require calculator)?

One friend asked me to find which one is bigger: $9^{17}$ and $7^{19}$ using basic calculations only. I gave him a solution by using the technique given in here. However, it was not that basic since I had to go up to $6$th term: ${17\choose 5} \left(\frac{2}{7}\right)^5$, computation of which was not easy without calculator.

Can anyone give me a simpler solution (which does not require calculator)?

One friend asked me to find which one is bigger: $9^{17}$ and $7^{19}$ using basic calculations only. I gave him a solution by using the technique given in here. However, it was not that basic since I had to go up to $6$th term: ${17\choose 5} \left(\frac{2}{7}\right)^5$, computation of which was not easy without calculator.

Can anyone give me a simpler solution (which does not require calculator)?

Source Link
hola
  • 1.3k
  • 9
  • 28

Which one is bigger: $9^{17}$ and $7^{19}$

One friend asked me to find which one is bigger: $9^{17}$ and $7^{19}$ using basic calculations only. I gave him a solution by using the technique given in here. However, it was not that basic since I had to go up to $6$th term: ${17\choose 5} \left(\frac{2}{7}\right)^5$, computation of which was not easy without calculator.

Can anyone give me a simpler solution (which does not require calculator)?