Skip to main content
improved formatting
Source Link
Cheese Cake
  • 1.2k
  • 7
  • 22

Let me be the one who says NO. It is a bit hard to handle an infinite number of monkeys (because you will need an infinite number of bananas to feed them), but if you agree to have a finite number of monkeys and infinite time, I would guess that considering the time it should take for this to happen, it is likely that the universe would die before it actually does.

To quote a chat of one of my friends with my first year "intro to CS" professor:

professorProfessor: "So there is no chance that a fair coin would fall with the head side up 50$50$ times in a row."

myMy friend: "No!, there is such a chance it's just very small...."

professorProfessor: "Well yes, itsit's like the chance for all the nitrogen molecules in the air to gather around your head and have you die from lack of oxygen."

Let me be the one who says NO. It is a bit hard to handle an infinite number of monkeys (because you will need an infinite number of bananas to feed them), but if you agree to have a finite number of monkeys and infinite time, I would guess that considering the time it should take for this to happen, it is likely that the universe would die before it actually does.

To quote a chat of one of my friends with my first year "intro to CS" professor:

professor: "So there is no chance that a fair coin would fall with the head side up 50 times in a row."

my friend: "No!, there is such a chance it's just very small...."

professor: "Well yes, its like the chance for all the nitrogen molecules in the air to gather around your head and have you die from lack of oxygen."

Let me be the one who says NO. It is a bit hard to handle an infinite number of monkeys (because you will need an infinite number of bananas to feed them), but if you agree to have a finite number of monkeys and infinite time, I would guess that considering the time it should take for this to happen, it is likely that the universe would die before it actually does.

To quote a chat of one of my friends with my first year "intro to CS" professor:

Professor: "So there is no chance that a fair coin would fall with the head side up $50$ times in a row."

My friend: "No!, there is such a chance it's just very small...."

Professor: "Well yes, it's like the chance for all the nitrogen molecules in the air to gather around your head and have you die from lack of oxygen."

cleaned up a little
Source Link
Jonas Meyer
  • 54.1k
  • 9
  • 207
  • 305

Let me be the one thatwho says NO. It is a bit hard to handle an infinite number of monkeys (because you will need an infinite number of bananas to feed them), but if you agree to have a finite number of monkeys and infinite time, I would guess that considering the time it should take for this to happen It, it is likely that the universe would die before it actually does.

toTo quote a chat of one of my friends with my first year "intro to CS" professor: professor: "So the is no chance that a fair coin would fall with the head site up 50 times in a row." my friend: "No!, there is such a chance its just very small...." professor: "Well yes, its like the change for all the nitrogen molecules in the air to gather around your head and have you die from lack of oxygen"

professor: "So there is no chance that a fair coin would fall with the head side up 50 times in a row."

my friend: "No!, there is such a chance it's just very small...."

professor: "Well yes, its like the chance for all the nitrogen molecules in the air to gather around your head and have you die from lack of oxygen."

Let me be the one that says NO. It is a bit hard to handle an infinite number of monkeys (because you will need an infinite number of bananas to feed them but if you agree to have a finite number of monkeys and infinite time, I would guess that considering the time it should take for this to happen It is likely that the universe would die before it actually does.

to quote a chat of one of my friends with my first year "intro to CS" professor: professor: "So the is no chance that a fair coin would fall with the head site up 50 times in a row." my friend: "No!, there is such a chance its just very small...." professor: "Well yes, its like the change for all the nitrogen molecules in the air to gather around your head and have you die from lack of oxygen"

Let me be the one who says NO. It is a bit hard to handle an infinite number of monkeys (because you will need an infinite number of bananas to feed them), but if you agree to have a finite number of monkeys and infinite time, I would guess that considering the time it should take for this to happen, it is likely that the universe would die before it actually does.

To quote a chat of one of my friends with my first year "intro to CS" professor:

professor: "So there is no chance that a fair coin would fall with the head side up 50 times in a row."

my friend: "No!, there is such a chance it's just very small...."

professor: "Well yes, its like the chance for all the nitrogen molecules in the air to gather around your head and have you die from lack of oxygen."

Post Made Community Wiki
Source Link
epeleg
  • 101
  • 3

Let me be the one that says NO. It is a bit hard to handle an infinite number of monkeys (because you will need an infinite number of bananas to feed them but if you agree to have a finite number of monkeys and infinite time, I would guess that considering the time it should take for this to happen It is likely that the universe would die before it actually does.

to quote a chat of one of my friends with my first year "intro to CS" professor: professor: "So the is no chance that a fair coin would fall with the head site up 50 times in a row." my friend: "No!, there is such a chance its just very small...." professor: "Well yes, its like the change for all the nitrogen molecules in the air to gather around your head and have you die from lack of oxygen"