Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
Simon Fraser
  • 2.5k
  • 12
  • 27

Of course, we've all heard the colloquialism "If a bunch of monkeys pound on a typewriter, eventually one of them will write Hamlet."

I have a (not very mathematically intelligent) friend who presented it as if it were a mathematical fact. Which, which got me thinking... Is this really true? Of course, I've learned that dealing with infinity can be tricky, but my intuition says that time is countably infinite while the number of works the monkeys could produce is uncountably infinite. Therefore, it isn't necessarily given that the monkeys would write Hamlet.

Could someone who's better at this kind of math than me tell me if this is correct? Or is there more to it than I'm thinking?

Of course, we've all heard the colloquialism "If a bunch of monkeys pound on a typewriter, eventually one of them will write Hamlet."

I have a (not very mathematically intelligent) friend who presented it as if it were a mathematical fact. Which got me thinking... Is this really true? Of course, I've learned that dealing with infinity can be tricky, but my intuition says that time is countably infinite while the number of works the monkeys could produce is uncountably infinite. Therefore, it isn't necessarily given that the monkeys would write Hamlet.

Could someone who's better at this kind of math than me tell me if this is correct? Or is there more to it than I'm thinking?

Of course, we've all heard the colloquialism "If a bunch of monkeys pound on a typewriter, eventually one of them will write Hamlet."

I have a (not very mathematically intelligent) friend who presented it as if it were a mathematical fact, which got me thinking... Is this really true? Of course, I've learned that dealing with infinity can be tricky, but my intuition says that time is countably infinite while the number of works the monkeys could produce is uncountably infinite. Therefore, it isn't necessarily given that the monkeys would write Hamlet.

Could someone who's better at this kind of math than me tell me if this is correct? Or is there more to it than I'm thinking?

Notice removed Content dispute by CommunityBot
Post Unlocked by CommunityBot
Post Locked by Daniel Fischer
Notice added Content dispute by Daniel Fischer
Post Reopened by Jonas Meyer, Gerry Myerson, André Nicolas, Daniel Fischer
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Grigory M, Yiorgos S. Smyrlis, Lost1, Claude Leibovici, Thomas Andrews
Notice removed Comments only by Willie Wong
Post Unlocked by Willie Wong
Notice added Comments only by Willie Wong
Post Locked by Willie Wong
Post Reopened by Eric Naslund, Isaac, Quixotic, t.b., hmakholm left over Monica
Question Protected by t.b.
Question Unprotected by Jeff Atwood
Post Closed as "off topic" by Jeff Atwood
Post Made Community Wiki by Jeff Atwood
edited tags
Link
Mateen Ulhaq
  • 1.2k
  • 2
  • 17
  • 34
Question Protected by Jeff Atwood
edited tags
Link
Nuno
  • 3.8k
  • 1
  • 30
  • 29
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackMath/status/25053219776364544
spelling
Source Link
Arturo Magidin
  • 404.6k
  • 57
  • 833
  • 1.1k
Loading
edited tags
Link
Sean Tilson
  • 4.5k
  • 1
  • 28
  • 38
Loading
Source Link
Jason
  • 1.4k
  • 2
  • 12
  • 14
Loading