Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by A is for Ambition
Bounty Ended with Christian Blatter's answer chosen by A is for Ambition
edited title
Link
A is for Ambition
  • 2.1k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 28

Find All Dimensions such shat numbers representingthat Volume of Box = Surface Area

deleted 8 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Narasimham
  • 41k
  • 7
  • 43
  • 106

Find All Dimensions Such Thatsuch shat numbers representing Volume of Box = Surface Area

A rectangular prism has integer edge lengths. Find all dimensions such that its surface area equals its volume.

My Attempt at a Solution:

Let the edge lengths be represented by the variables $l, w, h$.

Then $$lwh = 2\,(lw +lh + wh) \implies lwh = 2lwh\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right).$$

Dividing both sides of the equation by $lwh$ yields $$1 = 2\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right)$$

Or, $$\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$$

Though perhaps a bit unnecessary, I used some algebraic deduction and number theory to find all the possible ordered triple pairs for the dimensions of the rectangular prism in the cases where all the dimensions are the same and two of the dimensions are the same.

My answers were: $(6,6,6),(5,5,10),(8,8,4),(12,12,3)$

I have a hunch that no ordered pair exists where all three values are distinct, but is there a way to rigorously prove this?

Note: By the AM-GM Inequality, $lwh \geq 216$. (I haven't been able to make use of this fact, but I just noted it here in case)

Edit: After researching a little more about Egyptian Fraction Analysis, inspired by marty cohen's answer, I found from a Mathworld Wolfram page about Egyptian Fractions that a unit fraction can be (infinitely) split into two more unit fractions: $$\frac{1}{a} = \frac{1}{a+1} + \frac{1}{a(a+1)}.$$ I then used this idea to successfully generate a few ordered triplet solutions ($l,w,h$).

WLoG, assume $l \leq w \leq h$. Then the following ordered triplets ($l,w,h$) are solutions of the equation $\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$.

$$(4,6,12), (3,7,42), (3,8,24)$$

But, I suspect there are many more solutions since you can mix and match the fractions that you decompose. This results in countless more combinations of ($l,w,h$), and I don't know how to use casework or an otherwise more organized approach to solve this problem. But, I do believe it can still be solved using this approach.

If anybody has any idea on how to solve the problem using the "splitting unit fraction" method, or has any other working solution, I would greatly appreciate it if you shared it with me.

Apologies for the long post and thanks for reading.

-A

Find All Dimensions Such That Volume of Box = Surface Area

A rectangular prism has integer edge lengths. Find all dimensions such that its surface area equals its volume.

My Attempt at a Solution:

Let the edge lengths be represented by the variables $l, w, h$.

Then $$lwh = 2\,(lw +lh + wh) \implies lwh = 2lwh\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right).$$

Dividing both sides of the equation by $lwh$ yields $$1 = 2\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right)$$

Or, $$\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$$

Though perhaps a bit unnecessary, I used some algebraic deduction and number theory to find all the possible ordered triple pairs for the dimensions of the rectangular prism in the cases where all the dimensions are the same and two of the dimensions are the same.

My answers were: $(6,6,6),(5,5,10),(8,8,4),(12,12,3)$

I have a hunch that no ordered pair exists where all three values are distinct, but is there a way to rigorously prove this?

Note: By the AM-GM Inequality, $lwh \geq 216$. (I haven't been able to make use of this fact, but I just noted it here in case)

Edit: After researching a little more about Egyptian Fraction Analysis, inspired by marty cohen's answer, I found from a Mathworld Wolfram page about Egyptian Fractions that a unit fraction can be (infinitely) split into two more unit fractions: $$\frac{1}{a} = \frac{1}{a+1} + \frac{1}{a(a+1)}.$$ I then used this idea to successfully generate a few ordered triplet solutions ($l,w,h$).

WLoG, assume $l \leq w \leq h$. Then the following ordered triplets ($l,w,h$) are solutions of the equation $\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$.

$$(4,6,12), (3,7,42), (3,8,24)$$

But, I suspect there are many more solutions since you can mix and match the fractions that you decompose. This results in countless more combinations of ($l,w,h$), and I don't know how to use casework or an otherwise more organized approach to solve this problem. But, I do believe it can still be solved using this approach.

If anybody has any idea on how to solve the problem using the "splitting unit fraction" method, or has any other working solution, I would greatly appreciate it if you shared it with me.

Apologies for the long post and thanks for reading.

-A

Find All Dimensions such shat numbers representing Volume of Box = Surface Area

A rectangular prism has integer edge lengths. Find all dimensions such that its surface area equals its volume.

My Attempt at a Solution:

Let the edge lengths be represented by the variables $l, w, h$.

Then $$lwh = 2\,(lw +lh + wh) \implies lwh = 2lwh\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right).$$

Dividing both sides of the equation by $lwh$ yields $$1 = 2\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right)$$

Or, $$\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$$

Though perhaps a bit unnecessary, I used some algebraic deduction and number theory to find all the possible ordered triple pairs for the dimensions of the rectangular prism in the cases where all the dimensions are the same and two of the dimensions are the same.

My answers were: $(6,6,6),(5,5,10),(8,8,4),(12,12,3)$

I have a hunch that no ordered pair exists where all three values are distinct, but is there a way to rigorously prove this?

Note: By the AM-GM Inequality, $lwh \geq 216$. (I haven't been able to make use of this fact, but I just noted it here in case)

Edit: After researching a little more about Egyptian Fraction Analysis, inspired by marty cohen's answer, I found from a Mathworld Wolfram page about Egyptian Fractions that a unit fraction can be (infinitely) split into two more unit fractions: $$\frac{1}{a} = \frac{1}{a+1} + \frac{1}{a(a+1)}.$$ I then used this idea to successfully generate a few ordered triplet solutions ($l,w,h$).

WLoG, assume $l \leq w \leq h$. Then the following ordered triplets ($l,w,h$) are solutions of the equation $\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$.

$$(4,6,12), (3,7,42), (3,8,24)$$

But, I suspect there are many more solutions since you can mix and match the fractions that you decompose. This results in countless more combinations of ($l,w,h$), and I don't know how to use casework or an otherwise more organized approach to solve this problem. But, I do believe it can still be solved using this approach.

If anybody has any idea on how to solve the problem using the "splitting unit fraction" method, or has any other working solution, I would greatly appreciate it if you shared it with me.

Apologies for the long post and thanks for reading.

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackMath/status/583629430033092610
edited body
Source Link
A is for Ambition
  • 2.1k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 28

A rectangular prism has integer edge lengths. Find all dimensions such that its surface area equals its volume.

My Attempt at a Solution:

Let the edge lengths be represented by the variables $l, w, h$.

Then $$lwh = 2\,(lw +lh + wh) \implies lwh = 2lwh\left(\frac{1}{h} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{l}\right).$$$$lwh = 2\,(lw +lh + wh) \implies lwh = 2lwh\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right).$$

Dividing both sides of the equation by $lwh$ yields $$1 = 2\left(\frac{1}{h} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{l}\right)$$$$1 = 2\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right)$$

Or, $$\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$$

Though perhaps a bit unnecessary, I used some algebraic deduction and number theory to find all the possible ordered triple pairs for the dimensions of the rectangular prism in the cases where all the dimensions are the same and two of the dimensions are the same.

My answers were: $(6,6,6),(5,5,10),(8,8,4),(12,12,3)$

I have a hunch that no ordered pair exists where all three values are distinct, but is there a way to rigorously prove this?

Note: By the AM-GM Inequality, $lwh \geq 216$. (I haven't been able to make use of this fact, but I just noted it here in case)

Edit: After researching a little more about Egyptian Fraction Analysis, inspired by marty cohen's answer, I found from a Mathworld Wolfram page about Egyptian Fractions that a unit fraction can be (infinitely) split into two more unit fractions: $$\frac{1}{a} = \frac{1}{a+1} + \frac{1}{a(a+1)}.$$ I then used this idea to successfully generate a few ordered triplet solutions ($l,w,h$).

WLoG, assume $l \leq w \leq h$. Then the following ordered triplets ($l,w,h$) are solutions of the equation $\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$.

$$(4,6,12), (3,7,42), (3,8,24)$$

But, I suspect there are many more solutions since you can mix and match the fractions that you decompose. This results in countless more combinations of ($l,w,h$), and I don't know how to use casework or an otherwise more organized approach to solve this problem. But, I do believe it can still be solved using this approach.

If anybody has any idea on how to solve the problem using the "splitting unit fraction" method, or has any other working solution, I would greatly appreciate it if you shared it with me.

Apologies for the long post and thanks for reading.

-A

A rectangular prism has integer edge lengths. Find all dimensions such that its surface area equals its volume.

My Attempt at a Solution:

Let the edge lengths be represented by the variables $l, w, h$.

Then $$lwh = 2\,(lw +lh + wh) \implies lwh = 2lwh\left(\frac{1}{h} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{l}\right).$$

Dividing both sides of the equation by $lwh$ yields $$1 = 2\left(\frac{1}{h} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{l}\right)$$

Or, $$\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$$

Though perhaps a bit unnecessary, I used some algebraic deduction and number theory to find all the possible ordered triple pairs for the dimensions of the rectangular prism in the cases where all the dimensions are the same and two of the dimensions are the same.

My answers were: $(6,6,6),(5,5,10),(8,8,4),(12,12,3)$

I have a hunch that no ordered pair exists where all three values are distinct, but is there a way to rigorously prove this?

Note: By the AM-GM Inequality, $lwh \geq 216$. (I haven't been able to make use of this fact, but I just noted it here in case)

Edit: After researching a little more about Egyptian Fraction Analysis, inspired by marty cohen's answer, I found from a Mathworld Wolfram page about Egyptian Fractions that a unit fraction can be (infinitely) split into two more unit fractions: $$\frac{1}{a} = \frac{1}{a+1} + \frac{1}{a(a+1)}.$$ I then used this idea to successfully generate a few ordered triplet solutions ($l,w,h$).

WLoG, assume $l \leq w \leq h$. Then the following ordered triplets ($l,w,h$) are solutions of the equation $\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$.

$$(4,6,12), (3,7,42), (3,8,24)$$

But, I suspect there are many more solutions since you can mix and match the fractions that you decompose. This results in countless more combinations of ($l,w,h$), and I don't know how to use casework or an otherwise more organized approach to solve this problem. But, I do believe it can still be solved using this approach.

If anybody has any idea on how to solve the problem using the "splitting unit fraction" method, or has any other working solution, I would greatly appreciate it if you shared it with me.

Apologies for the long post and thanks for reading.

-A

A rectangular prism has integer edge lengths. Find all dimensions such that its surface area equals its volume.

My Attempt at a Solution:

Let the edge lengths be represented by the variables $l, w, h$.

Then $$lwh = 2\,(lw +lh + wh) \implies lwh = 2lwh\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right).$$

Dividing both sides of the equation by $lwh$ yields $$1 = 2\left(\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h}\right)$$

Or, $$\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$$

Though perhaps a bit unnecessary, I used some algebraic deduction and number theory to find all the possible ordered triple pairs for the dimensions of the rectangular prism in the cases where all the dimensions are the same and two of the dimensions are the same.

My answers were: $(6,6,6),(5,5,10),(8,8,4),(12,12,3)$

I have a hunch that no ordered pair exists where all three values are distinct, but is there a way to rigorously prove this?

Note: By the AM-GM Inequality, $lwh \geq 216$. (I haven't been able to make use of this fact, but I just noted it here in case)

Edit: After researching a little more about Egyptian Fraction Analysis, inspired by marty cohen's answer, I found from a Mathworld Wolfram page about Egyptian Fractions that a unit fraction can be (infinitely) split into two more unit fractions: $$\frac{1}{a} = \frac{1}{a+1} + \frac{1}{a(a+1)}.$$ I then used this idea to successfully generate a few ordered triplet solutions ($l,w,h$).

WLoG, assume $l \leq w \leq h$. Then the following ordered triplets ($l,w,h$) are solutions of the equation $\frac{1}{l} + \frac{1}{w} + \frac{1}{h} = \frac{1}{2}$.

$$(4,6,12), (3,7,42), (3,8,24)$$

But, I suspect there are many more solutions since you can mix and match the fractions that you decompose. This results in countless more combinations of ($l,w,h$), and I don't know how to use casework or an otherwise more organized approach to solve this problem. But, I do believe it can still be solved using this approach.

If anybody has any idea on how to solve the problem using the "splitting unit fraction" method, or has any other working solution, I would greatly appreciate it if you shared it with me.

Apologies for the long post and thanks for reading.

-A

question has algebra and geometry but does not match the description of the algebraic-geometry tag
Source Link
David K
  • 99.9k
  • 8
  • 81
  • 215
Loading
added 45 characters in body
Source Link
A is for Ambition
  • 2.1k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 28
Loading
added 1079 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
A is for Ambition
  • 2.1k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 28
Loading
added 1079 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
A is for Ambition
  • 2.1k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 28
Loading
added 1079 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
A is for Ambition
  • 2.1k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 28
Loading
Notice added Draw attention by A is for Ambition
Bounty Started worth 100 reputation by A is for Ambition
Source Link
A is for Ambition
  • 2.1k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 28
Loading