Skip to main content
replaced http://math.stackexchange.com/ with https://math.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I am looking for a formula that evaluates the mean distance from origin after $N$ equal steps of Random-Walk in a $d$-dimensional space. Such a formula was given by "Henry" to a question by "Diego" (q/103170q/103170)

$$\sqrt{\dfrac{2N}{d}} \dfrac{\Gamma(\frac{d+1}{2})}{\Gamma(\frac{d}{2})}$$

I will be very gratefull if you can give me reference to an article that show how this formula was derived. Thanks!

I am looking for a formula that evaluates the mean distance from origin after $N$ equal steps of Random-Walk in a $d$-dimensional space. Such a formula was given by "Henry" to a question by "Diego" (q/103170)

$$\sqrt{\dfrac{2N}{d}} \dfrac{\Gamma(\frac{d+1}{2})}{\Gamma(\frac{d}{2})}$$

I will be very gratefull if you can give me reference to an article that show how this formula was derived. Thanks!

I am looking for a formula that evaluates the mean distance from origin after $N$ equal steps of Random-Walk in a $d$-dimensional space. Such a formula was given by "Henry" to a question by "Diego" (q/103170)

$$\sqrt{\dfrac{2N}{d}} \dfrac{\Gamma(\frac{d+1}{2})}{\Gamma(\frac{d}{2})}$$

I will be very gratefull if you can give me reference to an article that show how this formula was derived. Thanks!

added 8 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
TMM
  • 10k
  • 3
  • 36
  • 54

mean Mean distance from origin after N$N$ equal steps of Random-Walk in a d$d$-dimensional space.

I am looking for a formula that evaluates the mean distance from origin after N$N$ equal steps of Random-Walk in a d$d$-dimensional space. Such a formula was given by "Henry" to a question by "Diego" (q/103170q/103170)

\sqrt{\dfrac{2N}{d}} \dfrac{\Gamma(\frac{d+1}{2})}{\Gamma(\frac{d}{2})}$$\sqrt{\dfrac{2N}{d}} \dfrac{\Gamma(\frac{d+1}{2})}{\Gamma(\frac{d}{2})}$$

I will be very gratefull if you can give me reference to an article that show how this formula was derived. Thanks!

mean distance from origin after N equal steps of Random-Walk in a d-dimensional space.

I am looking for a formula that evaluates the mean distance from origin after N equal steps of Random-Walk in a d-dimensional space. Such a formula was given by "Henry" to a question by "Diego" (q/103170)

\sqrt{\dfrac{2N}{d}} \dfrac{\Gamma(\frac{d+1}{2})}{\Gamma(\frac{d}{2})}

I will be very gratefull if you can give me reference to an article that show how this formula was derived. Thanks!

Mean distance from origin after $N$ equal steps of Random-Walk in a $d$-dimensional space.

I am looking for a formula that evaluates the mean distance from origin after $N$ equal steps of Random-Walk in a $d$-dimensional space. Such a formula was given by "Henry" to a question by "Diego" (q/103170)

$$\sqrt{\dfrac{2N}{d}} \dfrac{\Gamma(\frac{d+1}{2})}{\Gamma(\frac{d}{2})}$$

I will be very gratefull if you can give me reference to an article that show how this formula was derived. Thanks!

Source Link

mean distance from origin after N equal steps of Random-Walk in a d-dimensional space.

I am looking for a formula that evaluates the mean distance from origin after N equal steps of Random-Walk in a d-dimensional space. Such a formula was given by "Henry" to a question by "Diego" (q/103170)

\sqrt{\dfrac{2N}{d}} \dfrac{\Gamma(\frac{d+1}{2})}{\Gamma(\frac{d}{2})}

I will be very gratefull if you can give me reference to an article that show how this formula was derived. Thanks!