Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 7, 2015 at 14:07 comment added Mario Carneiro @DavidZhang By the way, for anyone who's interested I maintain a blog chronicling my quest to prove those 100 theorems in Metamath. (40 down, 60 to go!)
Jan 7, 2015 at 13:59 comment added Mario Carneiro @DavidZhang I literally just discovered Metamath cited on a wiki or maybe here, and read up on it and liked what I saw, so I started writing theorems of my own and sending them in (the maintainer, Norm Megill, is very responsive by email and I just send him stuff that way and it shows up within a few days). Besides the fact that I was exposed to Metamath before other formal systems (the giants in the field are HOL Light, Mizar, Coq and Isabelle), I am quite attracted to the simplicity of Metamath foundations. No other system can claim as direct a connection to the logic textbook approach.
Jan 7, 2015 at 11:38 comment added David Zhang @MarioCarneiro Fascinating! I had a look at Formalizing 100 Theorems and I am surprised how many well-known results remain unformalized. Can you shed some light on how someone might get started working in this area? What led you to Metamath over other proof checking systems?
Jan 7, 2015 at 11:29 comment added DanielV @MarioCarneiro Thanks for the edit, I really wish this had existed and I had known about it as an undergrad.
Jan 7, 2015 at 11:05 history edited Mario Carneiro CC BY-SA 3.0
My experience in formal proof
Jan 7, 2015 at 10:47 comment added DanielV @MarioCarneiro I would appreciate it if you would add to this answer your thoughts and suggestions, I think they would be appreciated by the poster as well.
Jan 7, 2015 at 5:25 comment added Mario Carneiro @DavidZhang As someone who does exactly this on a regular basis, yes I would absolutely say that you can make a significant original contribution. My first large project was proving Bertrand's postulate in Metamath, and since then I've been invited to a conference, wrote a paper, and I feel like my mathematical career is finally starting to take off. All while still in undergrad.
Jan 4, 2015 at 5:29 comment added rationalis @DanielV But I mean, how many mathematicians are significant enough to expect the girls at the bar to know their name? I can't think of a single (pun intended) living academic who could walk into an average bar (well, where I live anyways) and expect to be recognized on the merit of their contributions to their field.
Jan 2, 2015 at 17:02 comment added DanielV @DavidZhang If you look around, possibly. If you are interested I would recommend contacting the authors of a proof wiki and see if there is anything that they would suggest. As far as "significant" goes...I'd say yes probably significant enough to put on a resume, but probably not significant enough to expect the girls at the bar to know your name before you walk in.
Jan 2, 2015 at 16:57 comment added David Zhang Interesting. Is this proof formalization an area in which a motivated undergraduate could make a significant original contribution?
Jan 2, 2015 at 16:45 history answered DanielV CC BY-SA 3.0