Skip to main content
Commonmark migration
Source Link

I recently found myself in a situation where I had to attempt customer service over the phone in Japanese and I got tripped up on some terminology that I've never encountered before. Most of it had to do with credit card payment logistics. Are there any good resources for dealing with this kind of specialized vocabulary?

Specifically, I found myself getting stuck on:

  1. "Charge", both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card.

    "Charge", both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card.

    「支払い」 seems to be an appropriate noun, but what would the verb be? 「支払わせる」 doesn't sound right to me.

  2. "Hold", in the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days.

    A dictionary suggests 「数日間保留中」, but I'd like to be sure of that before I actually try using it.

  3. "Offer", as in "offer to buy" as a noun (e.g, "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale).

    I was using 「お申し込み」, but it would be nice to be more specific than this, if possible.

  4. "Finalize", in the sense of officially completing a transaction.

    Maybe 「纏める」? I'm not sure if that's an appropriate usage.

「支払い」 seems to be an appropriate noun, but what would the verb be? 「支払わせる」 doesn't sound right to me.

  1. "Hold", in the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days.

A dictionary suggests 「数日間保留中」, but I'd like to be sure of that before I actually try using it.

  1. "Offer", as in "offer to buy" as a noun (e.g, "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale).

I was using 「お申し込み」, but it would be nice to be more specific than this, if possible.

  1. "Finalize", in the sense of officially completing a transaction.

Maybe 「纏める」? I'm not sure if that's an appropriate usage.

If you have any familiarity with this kind of vocabulary, any help would be greatly appreciated. The dictionary offers some guidance, but I'm wary of attempting to use any of these terms without seeing them in context first. Thanks!

I recently found myself in a situation where I had to attempt customer service over the phone in Japanese and I got tripped up on some terminology that I've never encountered before. Most of it had to do with credit card payment logistics. Are there any good resources for dealing with this kind of specialized vocabulary?

Specifically, I found myself getting stuck on:

  1. "Charge", both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card.

「支払い」 seems to be an appropriate noun, but what would the verb be? 「支払わせる」 doesn't sound right to me.

  1. "Hold", in the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days.

A dictionary suggests 「数日間保留中」, but I'd like to be sure of that before I actually try using it.

  1. "Offer", as in "offer to buy" as a noun (e.g, "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale).

I was using 「お申し込み」, but it would be nice to be more specific than this, if possible.

  1. "Finalize", in the sense of officially completing a transaction.

Maybe 「纏める」? I'm not sure if that's an appropriate usage.

If you have any familiarity with this kind of vocabulary, any help would be greatly appreciated. The dictionary offers some guidance, but I'm wary of attempting to use any of these terms without seeing them in context first. Thanks!

I recently found myself in a situation where I had to attempt customer service over the phone in Japanese and I got tripped up on some terminology that I've never encountered before. Most of it had to do with credit card payment logistics. Are there any good resources for dealing with this kind of specialized vocabulary?

Specifically, I found myself getting stuck on:

  1. "Charge", both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card.

    「支払い」 seems to be an appropriate noun, but what would the verb be? 「支払わせる」 doesn't sound right to me.

  2. "Hold", in the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days.

    A dictionary suggests 「数日間保留中」, but I'd like to be sure of that before I actually try using it.

  3. "Offer", as in "offer to buy" as a noun (e.g, "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale).

    I was using 「お申し込み」, but it would be nice to be more specific than this, if possible.

  4. "Finalize", in the sense of officially completing a transaction.

    Maybe 「纏める」? I'm not sure if that's an appropriate usage.

If you have any familiarity with this kind of vocabulary, any help would be greatly appreciated. The dictionary offers some guidance, but I'm wary of attempting to use any of these terms without seeing them in context first. Thanks!

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackJapanese/status/525142476458168320
Improve formatting, tighten title, minor register and stylistic changes
Source Link
Darius Jahandarie
  • 16.2k
  • 4
  • 46
  • 112

Japanese equivalents for specialized Specialized banking/credit card vocabulary

RecentlyI recently found myself in a situation where I had to attempt customer service over the phone in Japanese and I got tripped up on some terminology that I've never encountered before. Most of it had to do with credit card payment logistics. Are there any good resources for dealing with this kind of specialized vocabulary?

Specifically, I found myself getting stuck on:

  • Charge
  1. "Charge", both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card.

Both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card. 支払い「支払い」 seems to be an appropriate herenoun, but what would the verb be? 支払わせる「支払わせる」 doesn't sound right to me.

  • Hold
  1. "Hold", in the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days.

In the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days. DictionaryA dictionary suggests 数日間保留中「数日間保留中」, but I'd like to be sure of that before I actually try using it.

  • Offer
  1. "Offer", as in "offer to buy" as a noun (e.g, "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale).

As in "offer to buy" as a noun. Such as "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale. I was using お申し込み「お申し込み」, but it would be nice to be more specific than this, if possible.

  • Finalize
  1. "Finalize", in the sense of officially completing a transaction.

In the sense of officially completing a transaction. 纏めるMaybe 「纏める」? NotI'm not sure if that's an appropriate usage.

If you have any familiarity with this kind of vocabulary, any help would be greatly appreciated. The dictionary offers some guidance, but I'm wary of attempting to use any of these terms without seeing them in context first. Thanks!

Japanese equivalents for specialized banking/credit card vocabulary

Recently found myself in a situation where I had to attempt customer service over the phone in Japanese and I got tripped up on some terminology that I've never encountered before. Most of it had to do with credit card payment logistics. Are there any good resources for dealing with this kind of specialized vocabulary?

Specifically, I found myself getting stuck on:

  • Charge

Both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card. 支払い seems appropriate here, but what would the verb be? 支払わせる doesn't sound right to me.

  • Hold

In the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days. Dictionary suggests 数日間保留中 but I'd like to be sure of that before I actually try using it.

  • Offer

As in "offer to buy" as a noun. Such as "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale. I was using お申し込み but it would be nice to be more specific than this, if possible.

  • Finalize

In the sense of officially completing a transaction. 纏める? Not sure if that's an appropriate usage.

If you have any familiarity with this kind of vocabulary, any help would be greatly appreciated. The dictionary offers some guidance, but I'm wary of attempting to use any of these terms without seeing them in context first. Thanks!

Specialized banking/credit card vocabulary

I recently found myself in a situation where I had to attempt customer service over the phone in Japanese and I got tripped up on some terminology that I've never encountered before. Most of it had to do with credit card payment logistics. Are there any good resources for dealing with this kind of specialized vocabulary?

Specifically, I found myself getting stuck on:

  1. "Charge", both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card.

「支払い」 seems to be an appropriate noun, but what would the verb be? 「支払わせる」 doesn't sound right to me.

  1. "Hold", in the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days.

A dictionary suggests 「数日間保留中」, but I'd like to be sure of that before I actually try using it.

  1. "Offer", as in "offer to buy" as a noun (e.g, "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale).

I was using 「お申し込み」, but it would be nice to be more specific than this, if possible.

  1. "Finalize", in the sense of officially completing a transaction.

Maybe 「纏める」? I'm not sure if that's an appropriate usage.

If you have any familiarity with this kind of vocabulary, any help would be greatly appreciated. The dictionary offers some guidance, but I'm wary of attempting to use any of these terms without seeing them in context first. Thanks!

Source Link

Japanese equivalents for specialized banking/credit card vocabulary

Recently found myself in a situation where I had to attempt customer service over the phone in Japanese and I got tripped up on some terminology that I've never encountered before. Most of it had to do with credit card payment logistics. Are there any good resources for dealing with this kind of specialized vocabulary?

Specifically, I found myself getting stuck on:

  • Charge

Both as a verb and as a noun, in the sense of charging a certain amount to a card. 支払い seems appropriate here, but what would the verb be? 支払わせる doesn't sound right to me.

  • Hold

In the sense of a temporary reservation placed on a card that will clear up by itself after a few days. Dictionary suggests 数日間保留中 but I'd like to be sure of that before I actually try using it.

  • Offer

As in "offer to buy" as a noun. Such as "your offer" or "an outstanding offer" pertaining to an item for sale. I was using お申し込み but it would be nice to be more specific than this, if possible.

  • Finalize

In the sense of officially completing a transaction. 纏める? Not sure if that's an appropriate usage.

If you have any familiarity with this kind of vocabulary, any help would be greatly appreciated. The dictionary offers some guidance, but I'm wary of attempting to use any of these terms without seeing them in context first. Thanks!