Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 26, 2017 at 19:06 comment added user3067860 Not only are they not hungry, if they have genetic tendency towards slow metabolism (sounds like they might--friend was overweight and friend's mom was constantly watching her weight) it might be the nutritionally correct amount for them. If it was a large package of ravioli, it might even be the serving size suggested on the package!
Nov 25, 2017 at 13:03 comment added Paulb This answer hits the crux--they are acclimated to small portions. Friend family of mine is the same. I went to their house for Thanksgiving, they made big happy drama about how much they were going to eat (it was my everyday portion), then none of them finished their plate, and then they sat around the rest of the day moaning about how stuffed they were.
Nov 23, 2017 at 11:18 comment added Lord Jebus VII @Tycho'sNose - Glad I could help, hope it works out for you
Nov 22, 2017 at 20:24 comment added Tycho's Nose @LordJebusVII I ended up doing what you are suggesting, having a smaller meal before eating with them. It's because of your last paragraph that I never said anything to them but I thought I ask here about how I could approach this. Thanks.
Nov 22, 2017 at 17:21 comment added Lord Jebus VII @akostadinov - a perfect example. My mum always feels guilty visiting her aunt, they eat more in one meal than we do in a day so no matter how much my mum eats there's always loads left. They took us out for a Chinese takeaway one time, I had no idea people bought one meal per person as we have always shared 3 meals with rice between the seven of us! They even bought spare meals so there would be more choices as well as sides and dessert. I've never seen so much food in one place!
Nov 22, 2017 at 17:01 comment added akostadinov haha, yeah, my parents were in a similar situation eating a single pancake for breakfast when they stayed at friends. Later same friends invited home and were surprised of the amount of pancakes prepared and then eaten. The friends raised the question how many pancakes they prepared earlier and got a good laugh that it was obviously not enough. Later on they started to prepare more food. Sorry, trying to be short.
Nov 22, 2017 at 12:09 history answered Lord Jebus VII CC BY-SA 3.0