Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

14
  • 58
    Asking for seconds, especially after complimenting her cooking, should not come across as impolite. It is in fact the politest way (that I can think of) of letting her know that you are still hungry. Since the reason for the small portion sizes is not lack of money, she will start to prepare more food next time. Maybe you need to ask for seconds a second or third time before she will notice though.
    – kscherrer
    Commented Nov 22, 2017 at 12:31
  • 10
    Funny: I have stayed in China for about a year and in most settings there have been a lot of leftovers. These has been true especially in restaurants. And when I say "a lot" I mean a ridiculously large amount: Basically only half of the food will be eaten. From my research on the cultural aspect I found out that in China you do not eat everything on your plate as it would show you are poor. How does this reconcile with what you are writing?
    – Make42
    Commented Nov 23, 2017 at 9:10
  • 5
    @Make42 I've read that's actually seen as disrespectful to the chef, as by finishing your plate you're suggesting that the chef didn't cook enough for you. One story I remember is someone eating in a cafe while on a business trip, and this cafe served noodles by presenting a large bowl in the center everyone took from. He finished his plate, and left nothing on it. The person he was with looked upset and motioned at the noodles, so he took a chopstick full and put it on his plate without eating any of them. His companion then looked happy
    – SGR
    Commented Nov 23, 2017 at 13:32
  • 14
    "I've gone as extreme as eating every bit of rice on my plate, literally." Is that "extreme", really? I do that as a matter of course. Why would you leave food on the plate for no reason? Commented Nov 23, 2017 at 19:44
  • 2
    "great family" Woah, I mean, I'm proud of my family too but... (I'm kidding, I guess its a term used to encompass relatives of your great grandfather's generation?) Commented Nov 23, 2017 at 20:27