Skip to main content
Question Protected by CommunityBot
clarified as suggested by a comment
Source Link
Em C
  • 13.6k
  • 8
  • 54
  • 90

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store and I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes for themselves. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they were shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with "how can I help you", from now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them feel more comfortable and less nervous?

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store and I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they were shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with "how can I help you", from now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them feel more comfortable and less nervous?

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store and I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes for themselves. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they were shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with "how can I help you", from now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them feel more comfortable and less nervous?

Became Hot Network Question
added missing word
Source Link
Ael
  • 17.2k
  • 13
  • 61
  • 130

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store and I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they were shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with "how can I help you", from now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them feel more comfortable and less nervous?

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store and I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they were shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with "how can I help you", from now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them more comfortable and less nervous?

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store and I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they were shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with "how can I help you", from now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them feel more comfortable and less nervous?

typos
Source Link
Em C
  • 13.6k
  • 8
  • 54
  • 90

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store &and I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they waswere shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with how"how can I help youyou", forfrom now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them more comfortable and less nervous?

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store & I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they was shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with how can I help you, for now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them more comfortable and less nervous?

I'm a new store manager for a women's clothing store and I have been receiving male-presenting customers that are looking for women's clothes. I want to give them the best, supportive environment I can. I want them to feel safe, welcome and confident when they leave. I'm looking for tips on how to do that.

I had a client who was very nervous yesterday. We did a bra fit and I walked them through how to put the bra on in a private room, and I tried to be encouraging. They kept saying how nervous they were. I did share with them that we have a variety of clients that visit us, and I am honored and thankful for every client. I also said I was proud of them for taking the step.

In other situations I've showed a lot of enthusiasm that they are shopping with us, but now I think that I might have been coming on too strong.

I read a previous post about not asking, "who are you shopping for", that it makes the client uncomfortable and can come off as presumptuous and rude. I feel bad because I asked who they were shopping for, before realizing they were looking for themselves. I will be sticking with "how can I help you", from now on.

What is the appropriate way to approach this situation as a customer service representative? And how could I have made them more comfortable and less nervous?

added link to related post that OP was referring to
Source Link
Em C
  • 13.6k
  • 8
  • 54
  • 90
Loading
Post Reopened by Ael, Rainbacon, Summer, Mithical, Belle
Added back the part that I removed but let the other question in as I believe that it clarifies the question
Source Link
Ael
  • 17.2k
  • 13
  • 61
  • 130
Loading
Tried to make the question more on topic
Source Link
Ael
  • 17.2k
  • 13
  • 61
  • 130
Loading
deleted 14 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
deleted 1 character in body; edited title
Source Link
Loading
Change title
Source Link
Ael
  • 17.2k
  • 13
  • 61
  • 130
Loading
swapped to gender neutral pronouns as it seems probably the person in question is a transwoman
Source Link
Ael
  • 17.2k
  • 13
  • 61
  • 130
Loading
swapped to gender neutral pronouns as it seems probably the person in question is a transwoman
Source Link
Loading
added 104 characters in body; deleted 25 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
added 297 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
I made some changes to clarify and give a little more detail.
Source Link
Loading
Post Closed as "Needs more focus" by Philipp, Ael, Theik, Imus, Tinkeringbell
added relevant tag; removed fluff
Link
A J
  • 7.7k
  • 11
  • 39
  • 52
Loading
Source Link
Loading